Golden Slipper Race Information

The Golden Slipper is a 1200 metre race for two-year-olds run under set weight conditions. The world’s richest race for two-year-old thoroughbreds, it is held by the Australian Turf Club in the autumn of each year.

  • Race Type: Group 1
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 2YOs
  • Track: Rosehill Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $4,920,000
  • Date: Saturday 23 March 2024

Golden Slipper Race History

See the 2024 Golden Slipper Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 Golden Slipper Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Golden Slipper Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2021 Golden Slipper Stakes Preview and results.

The Golden Slipper was first run in 1957 for a purse of 20,000 pounds and was won by Todman who went on to sire the winners of the race in 1964 and 1967. It has grown to become the world’s richest two-year old race with prizemoney of $5 million. Under the set weight conditions colts and geldings carry 56.5kg and fillies carry 54.5kg.

It is the first leg of the Sydney Triple Crown for two-year-olds, followed by the ATC Sires Produce Stakes over 1400 metres and the Champagne Stakes over 1600 metres. It attracts top quality youngsters, and most years there will be several runners who come into the race with an unbeaten record. The main lead-up races for fillies are the Reisling Slipper Trial and Magic Night Stakes, while major races for the boys are the Todman Slipper Trial and Pago Pago Stakes.

In 2019 the Australian Turf Club and Racing NSW announced a “Golden Slam” where a horse that can win the Golden Slipper as a two-year-old, the Golden Rose as a three-year-old and the Golden Eagle as a four-year-old will also get a $5 million bonus.

Golden Slipper day is one of the best racedays of the year in Sydney. Four other Group 1 races are held the same day at Rosehill Gardens with total prize money of more than $7 million. They are the Ranvet Stakes, George Ryder StakesRosehill Guineas and  The Galaxy.

In 2023 and 2024 the winners of the following races are exempt from ballot: Silver Slipper Stakes, Sweet Embrace Stakes, Skyline Stakes, Reisling Stakes, Todman Stakes, Magic Night Stakes and Pago Pago Stakes.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Lady Of Camelot  (2024)

Fastest time (1200m): Dance Hero (2004) 1:08:6

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Golden Slipper

Many Golden Slipper winners have gone on to sire future winners, beginning with Todman in 1957 who sired Eskimo Prince (1964) and Sweet Embrace (1967). Todman was by Star Kingdom who sired the first five winners of the Golden Slipper. Gai Waterhouse is the only trainer to trifecta the race when Ha Ha (2001) beat 2 stablemates home. When she quinellaed the 2015 race she equalled her fathers record of 6 winners in the race, and now has 8. No Golden Slipper winner has ever won the Caulfield Cup, Cox Plate or Melbourne Cup.

The past winners of the AAMI Golden Slipper, which is one of the grand slam events of Australian thoroughbred racing, are:

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Lady Of Camelot Coleman Storm Boy
2023 Shinzo Cylinder King’s Gambit
2022 Fireburn Best Of Bordeaux Coolangatta
2021 Stay Inside Anamoe Ingratiating
2020 Farnan Away Game Mamaragan
2019 Kiamichi Microphone Lyre
2018 Estijaab Oohood Sunlight
2017 She Will Reign Frolic Tulip
2016 Capitalist Yankee Rose Flying Artie
2015 Vancouver English Lake Geneva
2014 Mossfun Earthquake Bring Me The Maid
2013 Overreach Sidestep Sweet Idea
2012 Pierro Snitzerland Samaready
2011 Sepoy Mosheen Elite Falls
2010 Crystal Lily Decision Time More Strawberries
2009 Phelan Ready Headway Manhattan Rain
2008 Sebring Von Costa De Hero Portillo
2007 Forensics Zizou Meurice
2006 Miss Finland Pure Energy Churchill Downs
2005 Stratum Fashions Afield Media
2004 Dance Hero Charge Forward Alinghi
2003 Polar Success How Funny Hasna
2002 Calaway Gal Victory Vein Choisir
2001 Ha Ha Excellerator Red Hannigan
2000 Belle Du Jour Crowned Glory Assertive Lad
1999 Catbird Align Shogun Lodge
1998 Prowl Shovhog Glammis
1997 Guineas Encounter Regal Chamber
1996 Merlene Paint Flavour
1995 Flying Spur Octagonal Millrich
1994 Danzero St. Covet Racer’s Edge
1993 Bint Marscay Justice Prevails Sports Works
1992 Burst Clan O’Sullivan Loving Cup
1991 Tierce Canonise Big Dreams
1990 Canny Lad With Me Paklani
1989 Courtza Paris Opera Show County
1988 Star Watch Comely Girl Startling Lass
1987 Marauding Lygon Arms Boasting
1986 Bounding Away Just Blooming Imperial Baron
1985 Rory’s Jester Speed Check True Version
1984 Inspired Love A Kiss Royal Troubador
1983 Sir Dapper Been There Love A Show
1982 Marscay Vaindarra Grosvenor
1981 Full On Aces Food For Love Rose Of Kingston
1980 Dark Eclipse Joy Baglaga Miss
1979 Century Miss Dawn Command Sweet Habit
1978 Manikato Smokey Jack Jewel Flight
1977 Luskin Star Lloyd Boy Blazing Saddles
1976 Vivarchi Romantic Dream Desirable
1975 Toy Show Denise’s Joy Rosie Heir
1974 Hartshill Sufficient Skyjack
1973 Tontonan Snuff Strong Plea
1972 John’s Hope I’m Scarlett Sovereign Slipper
1971 Fairy Walk Beau Rouge My Amazon
1970 Baguette Royal Show Dual Choice
1969 Vain Peter’s Empire Gaelic Spirit
1968 Royal Parma Alfalfa Flying Fable
1967 Sweet Embrace Begonia Belle Eugene
1966 Storm Queen Academy Star Very Merry
1965 Reisling Star Affair Citius
1964 Eskimo Prince Farnworth Star Of Heaven
1963 Pago Pago Rosie Sun Ripa
1962 Birthday Card Proud Miss Grammar Lad
1961 Magic Night Young Brolga Commanding
1960 Sky High Wenona Girl Impulsive
1959 Fine And Dandy Akimbo Morning Star
1958 Skyline Misting Magic Kingdom
1957 Todman Flying Kurana Concert Star

From the archives:

Golden Slipper Preview & Tips 2018

Track: Soft   Weather: Overcast

There is a full field of 16 plus four emergencies for the $3,500,000 Longines Golden Slipper, and Hayes/Dabernig, Chris Waller, Mick Price and Tony McAvoy have multiple runners. The early favourite is Sunlight who has 5 wins from 6 starts and won the G2 Silver Slipper and G3 Magic Night Stakes at her last 2 starts. Second favourite is Written By who is unbeaten in 4 starts including the Blue Diamond Stakes and G2 Pago Pago Stakes. Third favourite is Seabrook who chased hard to win the G2 Sweet Embrace Stakes by 0.5 length last start.

Santos has won both starts this campaign, including the G2 Skyline Stakes on soft going. Performer won his first 2 starts then parted ways with jockey Hugh Bowman when he shifted out abruptly in the straight in the Todman Stakes last outing. Estijaab has 2 wins and a close 2nd from her 3 starts. Sandbar made the winner work all the way to the line when a close 2nd in the Pago Pago. All other runners are currently 16 to 1 or longer, including the Todman Stakes winner Aylmerton.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
10 Sunlight
1 Written By
2 Santos
15 Seabrook
Bet Now