Todman Stakes Race Information

The Todman Stakes is a 1200 metre set weights race for two-year-old colts and geldings run by the Australian Turf Club in March. It is held at Randwick as part of the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 2YO colts & geldings
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $300,000
  • Date: Saturday 6 March 2021

Todman Stakes Race History

The Todman Stakes winner is exempt from the ballot for the Golden Slipper.

History coming soon.

Todman Stakes Facts

Fastest time (1200m): Yes Yes Yes (2019) 1:08:4

Todman Stakes & Golden Slipper Stakes: Farnan (2020); Vancourver (2015): Pierro (2012); Tierce (1991); Marauding (1987); Luskin Star (1977)

Todman Stakes & ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes: Pierro (2012); Align (1999); Octagonal (1995); Tierce (1991); Luskin Star (1977)

Todman Stakes & Champagne Stakes: Pierro (2012); Meurice (2007); Tierce (1991); Full And By (1988); Luskin Star (1977); Rosie Heir

Leading trainers: Gai Waterhouse has had a lot of success in this race.

Interesting trivia: Two colts that have finished second in the Todman Stakes have won the Golden Slipper – Sir Dapper (1983) and Marscay (1982).

Past winners of the Todman Stakes

Winners of past Todman Stakes include horses that go on to run well in the Golden Slipper, the ATC Sires’Produce Stakes and the Champagne Stakes.

Year Winner Second Third
2021 Anamoe Profiteer Home Affairs
2020 Farnan Tagaloa Blondeau
2019 Yes Yes Yes Bellevue Hill Dubious
2018 Aylmerton Ef Troop Tchaikovsky
2017 Gunnison Invader Veranillo