Pago Pago Stakes Race Information

The Pago Pago Stakes is a 1200 metre set weights race for two-year-old colts and geldings run by the Australian Turf Club in March. It is held at Rosehill as part of the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 2YO C&Gs
  • Track: Rosehill Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $250,000
  • Date: Saturday 16 March 2024

Pago Pago Stakes Race History

See the 2024 Pago Pago Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 Pago Pago Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Pago Pago Stakes Preview and results.

Coming soon.

Useful Facts

Fastest time (1200m): Stratum (2005) 1:09:23

Pago Pago Stakes & Golden Slipper Stakes: Stratum (2005); Rory’s Jester (1985); Inspired (1984).

Interesting trivia: Redoubte’s Choice sired 2020 winner Prague, 2009 winner Tickets and 2005 winner Stratum.

Past winners of the Pago Pago Stakes

Winners of past Pago Pago Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Dublin Down Anode Coleman
2023 Shinzo Maharba Bases Loaded
2022 Rise Of The Masses Sweet Ride Magic
2021 Shaquero Tiger Of Malay Mazu
2020 Prague Kumasi I Am Swerving
2019 Cosmic Force Born A Warrior Stronger
2018 Written By Sandbar Spin
2017 Single Bullet Ducimus Coruscate
2016 Souchez Chimboraa Mount Panorama
2015 Tarquin Rageese Odyssey Moon
2014 Time For War Kumaon Klammer
2013 Sidestep Dothraki Fuerza
2012 All Too Hard Narcissus Limes
2011 Salade Boys On Tour Exceed And Exalt
2010 Brightexpectations Blackball Hinchinbrook
2009 Tickets New Day Rising Stryker
2008 Sidereus Over The Wicket Dubai To Sydney
2007 Deferential Cecconi Acey Ducey
2006 Tarleton Empires Choice Rubric
2005 Stratum Power Of Destiny Seidnazar
2004 Genius And Evil Fastnet Rock High Priority
2003 Danbird Hipwell Winestock
2002 Planchet Choisir Strictly Smart
2001 Red Hannigan Dash For Cash Shags
2000 De France Ombra Della Sera Veteran
1999 Shogun Lodge High Rolling Cullen
1998 Paris Dream Brilliance Arena
1997 Encounter Dance Beat Irish Air
1996 Babu’s Boy Magic Of Sydney Intergaze
1995 Strategic Zedrich Daney Boy
1994 Lord Jim Code Call Me Pal
1993 Jetball Sports Works Allez Glen
1992 Yachtie King Marauding Moville Dancer
1991 Big Dreams Umatilla Delphinus
1990 Pagan Jest Our Horizon Thegra
1989 Straussbrook Snowplough So Fast
1988 Zeditave Star Watch Astrologist
1987 Christmas Tree Rancho Ruler Sky Chase
1986 Imperial Baron Fort Denison Cum Laude
1985 Rory’s Jester Pleasant Flight No Parole
1984 Inspired Red Anchor Victory Prince
1983 Te Puninga March Magic Prime Asset
1982 Grosvenor Fairy God High Reserve
1981 Lead Role Neptune’s Court Nibric’s Hope
1980 John’s Hero Massacre Birch Bark
1979 Dawn Command Prince Ruling Zephyr Zip
1978 Cheval De Volee Just A Steal Kinellar