ATC Sires Produce Stakes Race Information

The ATC Sires Produce Stakes is a 1400 metre set weight race for two-year-olds run by the Australian Turf Club. The race is held in April at Randwick on the same day as the ATC Australian Derby.

  • Race Type: Group 1
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 3YOs
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $1,000,000
  • Date: Saturday 3 April 2021

ATC Sires Produce Stakes Race History

See the 2021 ATC Sires Produce Stakes Preview and Results.

The ATC Sires Produce Stakes has a long history and was first run in 1867 when it was won by Glencoe. It is the first opportunity for the two-year-olds to run over distances over 1200 metres and is a race for up-and-coming youngsters with middle distance and staying potential. Under set weights the colts and geldings carry 56.5kg and the fillies carry 54.5kg.

Horses that ran in the Group 1 Golden Slipper over 1200 metres often go on to run in the Sires Produce and their next race is usually the Champagne Stakes over 1600 metres on the last day of the Randwick Autumn Carnival. These three races are the two-year-old Triple Crown in Sydney.

Only a handful of horses have won all three legs of the Triple Crown and these were Baguette (1970), Luskin Star (1977), Tierce (1991), Burst (1992), Dance Hero (2004) and Pierro (2012).

In 2010 Michelle Payne became the first female jockey to win a Group 1 race at Randwick when she steered Yosei to victory in the Sires Produce. Another female, trainer Gai Waterhouse, has dominated this race since 2000 with winners Assertive Lad (2000), Hasna (2003), Dance Hero (2004), Fashions Afield (2005), Sebring (2008), Manhattan Rain (2009) and Pierro (2012).

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: El Dorado Dreaming (2018)

Fastest time (1400m): Pierro (2012) 1:21:47

Interesting trivia: In 1880 Kamilaroi and Geraldine dead-heated.

Past winners of the ATC Sires Produce Stakes

Some of Australia’s top gallopers have won this race early in their careers such as Tulloch, Ajax, Furious, Eskimo Prince, Tontonan, Luskin Star, Snippets and Octagonal. After Octagonal won in 1995 he went on to win the 1995 WS Cox Plate (as a three-year-old), then the Sydney three-year-old autumn triple crown of the Randwick GuineasRosehill Guineas and the AJC Australian Derby plus several more Group 1 races. When Pierro won in 2012 his time of 1.21.47 broke the record set by Luskin Star that had stood since 1977.

Year Winner Second Third
2021 Anamoe Hilal Captivant
2020 King’s Legacy Prague Mamaragan
2019 Microphone Loving Gaby Castelvecchio
2018 El Dorado Dreaming Oohood Outrageous
2017 Invader Summer Passage Trapeze Artist
2016 Yankee Rose Telperion Faraway Town
2015 Pride Of Dubai Odyssey Moon (dead heat 2nd) Rageese (dead heat 2nd)
2014 Peggy Jean Scratch Me Lucky Cornrow
2013 Guelph Scandiva Overreach
2012 Pierro All Too Hard Limes
2011 Helmet Uate Pane In The Glass
2010 Yosei Skilled Hinchinbrook
2009 Manhattan Rain Phelan Ready Tickets
2008 Sebring Samantha Miss Love And Kisses
2007 Camarilla Meurice Sashenka
2006 Excites Down The Wicket My Middi
2005 Fashions Afield Mnemosyne Johnny
2004 Dance Hero Wager Fastnet Rock
2003 Hasna Bushland Al Jameel (NZ)
2002 Victory Vein Choisir Planchet
2001 Viscount Royal Courtship Ha Ha
2000 Assertive Lad Reenact Surfboard

From the archives:

Sires Produce Stakes Preview & Tips 2020

Track: Soft    Weather: Fine

There is a field of 15 runners for the $500,000 Inglis Sires’ with only one filly. Normally this race carries prizemoney of $1,000,000 but it has been halved for 2020 as racing responds to COVID 19. Three runners had their last start in the Golden Slipper, two in the Group 3 Baillieu Handicap and two in the listed St Albans Stakes at Moonee Valley. The clear favourite is Mamaragan who was 3rd in the Slipper after an excellent Group 2 win in the Skyline Stakes. Second favourite is Prague who won the G3 Pago Pago Stakes before 6th in the Golden Slipper. Third favouritism is shared between Ole Kirk who was 3rd in the Sires Produce at Flemington last start, and Aim who finished 4th in the Pago Pago.

Bartley was a very close 2nd in the Group 3 Black Opal at Canberra last start. Holyfield was a dominant winner in the Baillieu Handicap and has won 3 of his 4 starts. King’s Legacy ran 9th in the Golden Slipper but did have the best 800-400m race sectional, suggesting he can improve on that. The others runners are currently at 15 to 1 or longer.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
1 Mamaragan
2 Larimer Street
6 Holyfield
3 Prague