Ranvet Stakes Race Information

The Ranvet Stakes is a 2000 metre weight-for-age race run by the Sydney Turf Club. The race is held in March at Rosehill Gardens as part of the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 1
  • Distance: 2000 metres
  • Conditions: Standard WFA, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Rosehill Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $1,000,000
  • Date: Saturday 23 March 2024

Ranvet Stakes Race History

See the 2024 Ranvet Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 Ranvet Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Ranvet Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2021 Ranvet Stakes Preview and results.

The Ranvet Stakes has changed its name and distance over the years, but can be traced back to 1903 when it was won by Great Scot. Back then it was called the Rawson Stakes and was raced over 9 furlongs (about 1800 metres) until 1962. From 1963 it was held over 7 furlongs and 110 yards (about 1500 metres) and the distance was increased to 1750 metres from 1973 to 1978 after which it became the current 2000 metres. From 1988 to 1991 it was called the Segenhoe Stakes and was first called the Ranvet Stakes in 1992. In 2008 it was held over 1900 metres at Canterbury racecourse.

Many horses use the Chipping Norton Stakes as a lead-up to the Ranvet. Many runners continue their autumn campaign in the Tancred over 2400 metres and the Queen Elizabeth Stakes over 2000 metres. Australian turf legends such as Bernborough, Peter Pan, Tulloch and Gunsynd have won this race in the past.

The winner of the 2023 Ranvet Stakes is exempt from the ballot for the 2023 Tancred Stakes , the 2023 Queen Elizabeth Stakes and the 2023 Sydney Cup.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Montefilia (2022)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Gold Guru (1998); Filly – Wenona Girl (1961)

Multiple winners: Theseo (2009 & 2010); Tie The Knot (2000 & 2001); Beau Zam (1988 & 1989); Marceau (1978 & 1979); Gunsynd (1971 & 1973); Regal Rhythm (1968 & 1972); Wenona Girl (1961 & 1964); Sky High (1962 & 1963); Columnist (1947 & 1948); Lough Neagh (1933, 1936 & 1937); Limerick (1927 & 1928); Malt King (1911 & 1912).

Fastest time (2000m): Gold Guru (1998) 2:00:24

Interesting trivia: Tie The Knot who won in 2000 and 2001 was first past the post in 1999, but lost on protest to Darazari.

Past winners of the Ranvet Stakes

It takes a quality weight-for-age horse to win the Ranvet Stakes but around a dozen horse have managed to win it a second time with the latest being Theseo who won in 2009 and 2010. Lough Neagh is the only three-time winner (1933, 1936 and 1937). Tie The Knot won in 2000 and 2001 and was first past the post in 1999 but lost on protest to Darazari.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Via Sistina Place Du Carrousel Buckaroo
2023 Dubai Honour Montefilia Mo’unga
2022 Montefilia Verry Elleegant Angel Of Truth
2021 Verry Elleegant Addeybb Angel Of Truth
2020 Addeybb Verry Elleegant Avilius
2019 Avilius He’s Eminent Danzdanzdance
2018 Gailo Chop Single Gaze Prized Icon
2017 Our Ivanhowe Hartnell The United States
2016 The United States Hauraki Criterion
2015 Contributer Tosen Stardom Lucia Valentina
2014 Silent Achiever Carlton House It’s A Dundeel
2013 Foreteller Fiveandahalfstar Maluckyday
2012 Manighar Rangirangdoo Shoot Out
2011 Zavite Descarado Hawk Island
2010 Theseo Rangirangdoo (NZ) Speed Gifted (GB)
2009 Theseo Viewed Moatize
2008 Tuesday Joy (NZ) Princess Coup Desert War
2007 Desert War Confectioner Railings
2006 Eremein Our Smoking Joe Desert War
2005 Grand Armee Vouvray (NZ) Hugs Dancer (FR)
2004 Sound Action Ambulance Makybe Diva (GB)
2003 Republic Lass Northerly Freemason
2002 Universal Prince Dress Circle (NZ) Freemason
2001 Tie The Knot Hill Of Grace (NZ) Giovana (NZ)
2000 Tie The Knot Arena Showella (NZ)

From the archives:

Ranvet Stakes Preview & Tips 2018

Track: Slow    Weather: Showers

There are nine runners for the $700,000 Ranvet Stakes. The odds-on favourite is Gailo Chop who has 6 wins over this distance and ran 2nd in the Australian Cup last start after winning his previous 2 starts. Second favourite is Single Gaze who worked home strong for 1.8 lengths 5th in the Australian Cup after 2 good second-placings at her previous two runs. On the third line of betting are Prized Icon who was 2nd in the Chipping Norton before 6th in the Ajax Stakes, and The Taj Mahal who resumed for 2.8 lengths 8th in the Australian Cup and generally improves second-up.

Harlem was the shock winner of the Australian Cup at 50 to 1, and a repeat of that performance would see him win again. Ventura Storm was 3rd in the Australian Cup and will be fitter. Classic Uniform ran 3rd in the Chipping Norton and should be better over this distance. Consensus is a good New Zealand mare who ran a close 2nd in a Group 1 in NZ last start. Sarrasin resumes here but has a good first-up record.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
1 Gailo Chop
8 Single Gaze
3 Harlem
5 Ventura Storm