W W Cockram Stakes Race Information

The W W Cockram Stakes is a 1200 metre set weights plus penalties race for mares four-years-olds and upwards run by the Melbourne Racing Club in late August or early September. It is held at Caulfield on Memsie Stakes day.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, Mares 4YO & upwards
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $160,000
  • Date: Saturday 29 August 2020

W W Cockram Stakes Race History

See the 2020 W W Cockram Stakes Preview and Results

The inaugural edition of the race was held over 1200m at Sandown Park Racecourse in 1992 as a Listed race and was won by Pride Of Demus at her third start as a four-year-old. It was raced at Caulfield in 1994 and 1997, then in 2002 was moved permanently from Sandown to Caulfield. In 2005 it was upgraded to its current Group 3 status. The race is named in honour of W.W. (Wally) Cockram who was Vice Chairman of the Victorian Amateur Turf Club (now the Melbourne Racing Club) from 1970 until 1984. He was also a prominent racehorse breeder.

It is held on Group 1 Memsie Stakes day along with the Group 3 The Heath 1100 sprint race, the Group 3 HDF McNeil Stakes over 1200m for three-year-olds and the Listed Heatherlie Handicap over 1700m. The Cockram Stakes is the first Group race of the racing season for mares only and attracts fairly talented mares.

Horses that are not first-up from a spell often come into the Cockram via the Listed Regal Roller Stakes held two weeks earlier on PB Lawrence Stakes day at Caulfield, or through unlisted mares handicaps. Horses may progress on to other mares events like the Group 2 Let’s Elope Stakes, Group 3 How Now Stakes or Group 2 WH Stocks Stakes.

W W Cockram Stakes Facts

Multiple winners: No mare has won this race more than once.

Fastest time (1200m): Ellicazoom (2018) 1:09:60

Cockram Stakes & How Now Stakes: Savanna Amour (2017)

Leading jockeys: Ben Melham  with 4 wins (Pippie 2019; Savanna Amour 2017; Mid Summer Music 2011; Rhythm In Paris 2010).

Interesting trivia: 2009 winner Cats Whisker is the dam of 2017 Blue Diamond winner Catchy.

Past winners of the W W Cockram Stakes

Winners of past W W Cockram Stakes include Pippie (2019), Ellicazoom (2018), Savanna Amour (2017), Ocean Embers (2016), Gregers (2014), Octavia (2013), Mid Summer Music (2011), Cats Whisker (2009) ), Storm Alert (2006), Brief Embrace (2003), Pernod (2002), Tickle My (2000), Spectrum (1998), Timeless Grace (1993) and Pride Of Demus (1992).

Year Winner Second Third
2020 Perfect Jewel Bless Her She Shao Fly
2019 Pippie Spanish Whisper Sylvia’s Mother
2018 Ellicazoom I Am Excited I Am A Star
2017 Savanna Amour Flying Jess Written Era
2016 Ocean Embers Thames Court Teleopea