P B Lawrence Stakes Race Information

The P B Lawrence Stakes is a 1400 metre weight-for-age race run by the Melbourne Racing Club in August for horses that are three-year-old and upwards. It is run at Caulfield as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival, and is the first Group 2 race of the Melbourne racing year.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Weight for Age, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Caulfield, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $300,000
  • Date: Saturday 19 August 2023

P B Lawrence Stakes Race History

See the 2023 P.B. Lawrence Stakes Preview and results

See the 2022 P.B. Lawrence Stakes Preview and results

See the 2021 P.B. Lawrence Stakes Preview and results

See the 2020 PB Lawrence Stakes Preview and results

The race was first held in 1949 as a Principal Race over a mile (about 1600m) at Flemington and was won by the English bred horse One Up. It was called the J J Liston Stakes after a prominent horse owner who was also president of the Williamstown Race Club. In 1965 it moved to Sandown Park racecourse and the distance was reduced to 7 furlongs (about 1400m) which became 1400m from 1973 onwards with the move to the metric system. In 1979 it was upgraded to a Group 2 race. It was held at Caulfield in 1984 and in 1997, then it moved permanently to Caulfield from 2002 onwards. The race name was changed in 2001 to honour Peter B. Lawrence, who served 12 years as Chairman of the Melbourne Racing Club.

The PB Lawrence attracts above-average horses and most of them will be racing here first-up before heading to Spring Carnival races. Other races on the day include two set weights and penalties 1100m Group 3 races for three-year-olds – the Vain Stakes for colts and geldings and the Quezette Stakes for fillies. There is also the Listed Regal Roller Stakes over 1200m for horses four-years-old and up.

Successful runners in the P B Lawrence Stakes may go on to the Group 2 Memsie Stakes over the same distance, the Group 2 Makybe Diva Stakes over 1600m at Flemington or the 1800m Group 1 Underwood Stakes at Caulfield later in the season. Mares may go on to the Group 2 Tristarc Stakes over 1400m and the Group 1 Myer Classic over 1600m.

P B Lawrence Stakes Facts

Last mare to win: Sierra Sue (2021)

Last 3YO to win: C&G Clear Springs (1954);  – he was the only 3YO to win this race

Multiple winners: Mr Brightside (2022 & 2023); Tauto (1971 & 1972); My Peak (1960 & 1962);

Fastest time (1400m): Apache Cat (2007) 1:22:19

P B Lawrence Stakes & Memsie Stakes: Regal Roller (2004); Zambari (1973); Lord (1958); Syntax (1957).

Leading jockeys (since 1930): Damian Oliver with 3 wins (Miss Rose De Lago 2016; Whobegotyou 2011; Le Zagaletta 2001) Greg Childs with 3 wins (Lad of the Manor 2005; Super Elegant 2003; Happy Star 1997).

Interesting trivia: Le Zagaletta ran in this race four times for 4th in 2000, 1st in 20001, 2nd in 2002 and 3rd in 2004.

Past winners of the P B Lawrence Stakes

Notable winners  include Mystic Journey (2019), Hartnell (2017), Whobegotyou (2011), Apache Cat (2007), Mahogany (1994), Dr Grace (1991), Sydeston (1990), Military Plume (1987), Sovereign Red (1981), Tobin Bronze (1966), Lord (1958) and Chicquita (1951).

2023 results

1st Mr Brightside

2nd Pinstriped

3rd Aegon