Quezette Stakes Race Information

The Quezette Stakes is a 1100 metre set weights plus penalties race for three-year-old fillies run by the Melbourne Racing Club in mid-August. It is held at Caulfield on PB Lawrence Stakes day.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1100 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YO fillies
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 19 August 2023

Quezette Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Quezette Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Quezette Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2020 Quezette Stakes Preview and results.

The race was first held in 1992 over 1200m at Sandown Park racecourse and was won by Minsky Lass. In 2006 the distance was reduced to 1100m and has remained at that distance. It was upgraded from a Listed to a Group 3 race in 2013 and has been run at Caulfield in 1997 and from 2002 onwards, while in the other years it was held at Sandown Park.

The sprint is restricted to three-year-old fillies and often attracts those that may have already had some success as a two-year-olds and are returning from a spell. The race is named after Quezette who won seven races as a two-year-old in the 1960’s. It is held on Group 2 P B Lawrence Stakes day where the other Group 3 event on the program is the Vain Stakes which is the equivalent race for colts and geldings. The program also includes the Listed Regal Roller Stakes for horse four-year-old and up who may be aiming towards The Everest.

Successful runners in the Quezette Stakes may go on to the Group 3 HDF McNeil Stakes over 1200m, the Group 2 Thousand Guineas Prelude over 1400m, the Group 1 Thousand Guineas over 1600m or the Group 1 Coolmore Stud Stakes over 1200m.

Who was Quezette?

Quezette was foaled in 1964 and was a champion racehorse in her time. She won seven races in her two-year-old season, including the 1967 Merson Cooper Stakes. As a three-year-old she was placed in the Group 1 Crown Oaks. She established the Australian record for five furlongs in 56.4 seconds.

Quezette Stakes Facts

Fastest time (1100m): Kiss A Rose (2013) 1:02:7

Quezette Stakes & Coolmore Stakes: Sunlight (2018);

Leading jockeys: Damien Oliver has a good record in this race (Petits Filous 2015; Elite Elle 2012; Alinghi 2004; La Lagune 2001).

Leading trainers: Peter Moody has had 4 winners.

Interesting trivia: More Than Ready is the broodmore sire of 2019 winner Exhilarates and also the broodmare sire of 2019 Vain Stakes (the colts and geldings equivalent of the Quezette Stakes) winner Bivouac.

Past winners of the Quezette Stakes

Winners of past Quezette Stakes include Exhilarates (2019), Sunlight (2018), I Am A Star (2016), Satin Shoes (2011), Bel Mer (2007), Alinghi (2004), Innovation Girl (2002) and Tristalove (1993).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Charm Stone Skirt The Law Sicilian
2022 Bound For Home Ojai I’mlovin’ya
2021 Gimmie Par Heresy Scorched Earth
2020 Bella Nipotina River Night Aquagirl
2019 Exhilarates Absolute Flirt Pin Sec
2018 Sunlight Humma Humma Thrillster
2017 Crown Witness Catchy Ploverset
2016 I Am A Star Leotie Athena Lass
2015 Petits Filous Jalan Jalan Miss Gunpowder
2014 Sabatini Royal Snitzel Novel Dancer
2013 Kiss A Rose Metastasio Chloe In Paris
2012 Elite Elle Agueda Ephemera
2011 Satin Shoes Metonymy Mosheen
2010 Panipique Crystal Lily Enzed Girl
2009 Corsaire Headway Come Hither
2008 Viennese Woppitt Hips Don’t Lie
2007 Bel Mer Sleek Chassis Chinchilla Rose
2006 La Vie Amour Nediym’s Glow Satin Robes
2005 Pinezero Chetwynd South Doubting
2004 Alinghi Granma Gertey Tahni Girl
2003 French Bid Beautiful Gem Roedean
2002 Innovation Girl Raven Protector Brief Embrace
2001 La Lagune Visage Firm
2000 So Gorgeous Amen Ruby All Time High
1999 Stella Artois Monterosso Suraya
1998 Bright Side Grand Archway Jolipal
1997 Accept Desert Mistral La Volta
1996 Ascorbic Always Devine Priceless Jewel
1995 Bracken Bank Saleous Presina
1994 Love Of Mary Ranzest Captiva
1993 Tristalove Kapchat Bella Serata
1992 Minsky Lass Pushy Dancer Strike Me Blushing