Thousand Guineas Race Information

The Thousand Guineas is a 1600 metre race for three-year-old fillies under set weight conditions, run by the Melbourne Racing Club. It is held in November each year at Caulfield during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 1
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 3YO fillies
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $1,500,000
  • Date: Saturday, 18 November 2023

Thousand Guineas Race History

See the 2023 Thousand Guineas Preview and results

See the 2022 Thousand Guineas Preview and results

See the 2021 Thousand Guineas Preview and results

See the 2020 Thousand Guineas Preview and results

The Thousand Guineas was first held as a principal race over 8 furlongs (about 1600 metres) in 1946 when it was won by Sweet Chime. From 1972 onwards it was held over 1600 metres and in 1979 it became a Group 1 race. It used to be held on the same Saturday as the Caulfield Cup but in 1988 it was moved to a Wednesday between the Caulfield Guineas and the Caulfield Cup. In 2014 it moved back to the Caulfield Guineas Saturday, then in 2021 it was returned to its Wednesday spot to ensure Group 1 racing on all three days of the MRC’s Carnival. In 2023 it was moved back to the Saturday after the Melbourne Cup Carnival finished.

There is a Thousand Guineas Prelude race over 1400 metres held in September at set weights with penalties and horses who do well in that usually go well in the Thousand Guineas. Winners of both include Irish Lights (2009) and Miss Finland (2006). The major lead-up race is the Group 2 Edward Manifold Stakes over 1600 metres, and fillies that run well in the Flight Stakes over 1600 metres at Randwick may come to Melbourne to contest the Thousand Guineas. Winners and placegetters of the Thousand Guineas generally continue to the Group 2 Wakeful Stakes over 2000 metres on Victoria Derby Day and then the Group 1 VRC Oaks over 2500 metres at the end of the Flemington Carnival.

At least a dozen fillies have won the Thousand Guineas – Wakeful Stakes double and even more have won the Thousand Guineas – VRC Oaks double. At least ten fillies have won all three races.

Useful Facts

Fastest time (1600m): Arborea (1993) 1:35:6

Interesting trivia: Anna Rose and Heirloom dead heated in 1963. When Yearning won in 2021 it was the 2nd Group 1 winner for jockey Damien Thornton.

Previous winners of the Thousand Guineas

The Thousand Guineas is the female equivalent of the Caulfield Guineas, and in recent years nearly all the winning fillies have been ridden off the pace and won with one long sustained run. Notable winners include Miss Finland (2006) and Toy Show (1975) who are the only two Golden Slipper winners to win the race.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Joliestar Kimochi Skybird
2022 Madame Pommery Revolutionary Miss She’s Licketysplit
2021 Yearning Elusive Express Barb Raider
2020 Odeum Personal Instant Celebrity
2019 Flit Missile Mantra Southbank
2018 Amphitrite Fundamentalist Seabrook
2017 Aloisia (NZ) Shoals Alizee
2016 Global Glamour I Am A Star (NZ) Whispering Brook
2015 Stay With Me Jameka Badawiya
2014 Amicus Traveston Girl Sabatini
2013 Guelph May’s Dream Gregers
2012 Commanding Jewel Dear Demi Zydeco
2011 Atlantic Jewel Mosheen Sharnee Rose
2010 Yosei Heartsareforlove Brazilian Pulse
2009 Irish Lights Melito Faint Perfume
2008 Gallica Cats Whisker Glowlamp
2007 Serious Speed Extension Of Time Antarctic Miss (NZ)
2006 Miss Finland Permaiscuous Cheeky Choice
2005 Mnemosyne Rewaaya (NZ) Serenade Rose
2004 Alinghi Hollow Bullet Ballet Society (NZ)
2003 Special Harmony Hinting Spurcent
2002 Macedon Lady La Bella Dame Fuji Dancer
2001 Magical Miss Ha Ha Li Lo Lill
2000 All Time High Ponton Flyer Tanith

2018 Thousand Guineas Preview & Tips:

Track: Good   Weather: Fine

Sixteen fillies accepted for the $500,000 Schweppes Thousand Guineas but Ducale is an early scratching. Six of them ran in the Thousand Guineas Prelude a fortnight ago, three ran in the Flight Stakes a fortnight ago and two ran in the G2 Edward Manifold Stakes last week. The clear favourite is Smart Melody who has won all 5 of her starts including a length win in the Thousand Guineas Prelude last outing. Second favourite is Thrillster who ran home well for 2nd in the Thousand Guineas Prelude after winning the Listed Atlantic Jewel Stakes. Third favourite is El Dorado Dreaming, who was 3rd in the Prelude, resuming from a spell.

Amphitrite has won all 3 starts this preparation, culminating with a strong win in the Edward Manifold Stakes over a mile last start. Fiesta has been 2nd at her last 3 starts in Sydney including a close finish in the Flight Stakes, and deserves a change of luck. Krone was 2nd to her stablemate in the Edward Manifold. Peaceful is a New Zealand filly who won two Listed races in NZ before running 2 lengths 6th in the Poseidon Stakes at her first Australian start. All other runners are currently at 25 to 1 or longer.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
 5 Smart Melody
 2 Fiesta
 7 Amphitrite
 4 Thrillster