Thousand Guineas Prelude Race Information

The Thousand Guineas Prelude is a 1400 metre set weights plus penalties race run by the Melbourne Racing Club in September. It is run at Caulfield as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YO fillies
  • Track: Caulfield, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $250,000
  • Date: Saturday 26 September 2020

Thousand Guineas Prelude Race History

Coming soon.

Thousand Guineas Prelude Facts

Fastest time (1400m): Miss Pennymoney (1999) 1:22:58

Thousand Guineas Prelude & Thousand Guineas: Miss Finland (2006); Azzurro (1992); Bianco Flyer (1987); Biscadale (1980)

Interesting trivia: Miss Finland (2006) is the only Golden Slipper winner to win. Danelagh (198) is the only Blue Diamond winner to win.

Past winners of the Thousand Guineas Prelude

Winners of past Thousand Guineas Prelude include horses that progress to major spring races.<

Year Winner Second Third
2020 Instant Celebrity Personal Rock My Wand
2019 Acting Southbank Barbie’s Fox
2018 Smart Melody Thrillster El Dorado Dreaming