HDF McNeil Stakes Race Information

The HDF McNeil Stakes is a 1200 metre set weights plus penalties race for three-year-olds run by the Melbourne Racing Club in late August or early September. It is held at Caulfield on Memsie Stakes day.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YOs
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 2 September 2023

HDF McNeil Stakes Race History

See the 2023 HDF McNeil Stakes Preview and results

See the 2022 HDF McNeil Stakes Preview and results

See the 2021 HDF McNeil Stakes Preview and results

See the 2020 HDF McNeil Stakes Preview and results

The race was first run as an unlisted handicap over 1100m in 1989 and was won by Good Old Ted. In 1991 it was upgraded to a Listed race, then in 1999 it was upgraded again to its current Group 3 status. In 2006 the distance was extended to 1200m. It is held on Group 1 Memsie Stakes day along with the Group 3 The Heath 1100 sprint race, the Group 3 WW Cockram Stakes over 1200m for mares and the Listed Heatherlie Handicap over 1700m.

Horses that are not first-up from a spell often come into the McNeil via the Group 3 Vain Stakes run 2 weeks before on PB Lawrence Stakes day at Caulfield. Some may come via the Group 3 Spring Stakes at Morphettville three weeks before. The race is generally very competitive and is often a stepping stone to major Group races in the Spring Carnival, including the Thousand Guineas Prelude, Thousand Guineas, Edward Manifold Stakes and Crown Oaks for fillies, plus the Danehill Stakes, Caulfield Guineas, Coolmore Stud Stakes and Victoria Derby.

There are some great horses in the list of past winners for this race. A few have even done well overseas like 2017 winner Merchant Navy who won the Coolmore Stud Stakes at Flemington two starts later then was sold and went to Europe where he won the G2 Greenlands Stakes then the G1 Diamond Jubilee Stakes.

HDF McNeil Stakes Facts

Last filly to win; Lady Of Harrods (2012)

Fastest time (1200m): Golden Archer (2011) 1:09:04

Vain Stakes & HDF McNeil Stakes: Gold Symphony (2015); Starspangledbanner (2009)

Leading trainers: Lee Freedman with 5 wins (Sugar Babe 2008; Honour The Name 1999; Gold Ace 1995; Danzero 1994: Snippet’s Girl 1992).

Interesting trivia: Danehill sired 1994 winner Danzero, 2001 winner Tully Dane and 2005 winner Danerich. He was also the broodmare sire of 2014 winner Chivalry.

Past winners of the HDF McNeil Stakes

Winners of past HDF McNeil Stakes include Super Seth (2019), Merchant Navy (2017), Starspangledbanner (2009), Scenic Blast (2007), Miss Finland (2006), Bel Esprit (2002), Theatre (1998), La Baraka (1997), Gold Ace (1995), Danzero (1994), Sequalo (1993) and Tierce (1991).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Veight Legacies Little Brose
2022 Jacquinot Aft Cabin Tijuana
2021 Bruckner Artorius Heresy
2020 Immortal Love Flying Award Tagaloa
2019 Super Seth King Of Hastings Sebrakate
2018 Native Soldier The August Seabrook
2017 Merchant Navy Booker Muraahib
2016 Defcon Highland Beat Wazzenme
2015 Gold Symphony Ready For Victory Demonstrate
2014 Chivalry Nordic Empire Awesome Rock
2013 Fast ‘n’ Rocking Prince Harada Thermal Current
2012 Lady Of Harrods Kabayan Shamexpress
2011 Golden Archer Cross Of Gold Vatican
2010 Sistine Angel Servant Intencion
2009 Starspangledbanner Tollesprit Eclair Fastpass
2008 Sugar Babe Whogotbeyou Cardinal Virtue
2007 Scenic Blast Pins On Parade Marching
2006 Miss Finland Haradasun Due Sasco
2005 Danerich Line Account Izanami
2004 Tahni Girl Classiconi Oratorio
2003 Cahula Cross Current Abdullah
2002 Bel Esprit Yell Before Too Long
2001 Tully Dane Raja Lane King of Prussia
2000 Rapid Man Little Dozer Homewrecker
1999 Honour Thy Name Fappianos Son Miss Pennymoney
1998 Theatre Jumalique Major Fun
1997 La Baraka Towkay Guineas
1996 Valourina Investigation Checmour
1995 Gold Ace Sykes Street Talk
1994 Danzero Linbird Hurricane Sky
1993 Sequalo Lady Jakeo King Kora
1992 Snippet’s Girl Simonstad Forever Intrigue
1991 Tierce Naturalism Business Beat
1990 Manitor The Curragh Clubman
1989 Good Old Ted Street Ruffian Parotime