Danehill Stakes Race Information

The Danehill Stakes is a 1200 metre set weights plus penalties race for three-year-olds run by the Victoria Race Club held in September. It is run at Flemington as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YOs
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 12 September 2020

Danehill Stakes Race History

The Danehill Stakes was first run in 1982 and was won by a horse called Fiesta Star.

Fun Facts

Last filly to win; Catchy (2017)

Fastest time (1200m): Rich Enuff (2001) 1:08:10

Golden Slipper & Danehill Stakes: Rory’s Jester (1985)

Leading jockeys: M Rodd with 3 wins (Rich Enuff 2014; Charlie Boy 2013; Aichi 2008). Glen Boss with 3 winners (Kinglike 2015; Jet Spur 2005; Fastnet Rock 2004)

Interesting trivia: 2017 winner Catchy was sired by 2004 winner Fastnet Rock. Choisir was first past the post in 2002 but was relegated to third for causing interference in the final 200m.

Past winners of the Danehill Stakes

Notable winners include Sepoy (2011), Black Caviar (2009), Fastnet Rock (2004), Falvelon (1999), Armidale (1996) and Gold Ace (1995).

Year Winner Second Third
2020 Doubtland Amish Boy Ranting
2019 Dalasan Dubious Express Pass
2018 Encryption Thorondor Tavisan
2017 Catchy Jukebox Booker
2016 Saracino Archivesn Samara Dancer
2015 Kinglike Raphael’s Cat Ready For Victory
2014 Rich Enuff Looks Like The Cat Ghibellines
2013 Charlie Boy Kiss A Rose Eclair Big Bang
2012 Snitzerland Stralia Rusambo
2011 Sepoy Hallowell Belle Unique Quality
2010 Soul Buffering General Truce
2009 Black Caviar Wanted Rarefied
2008 Aichi Time Chief Niccconi
2007 Tan Tat de Lago Scenic Blast Purrealist
2006 The One Anamato Sharkbite
2005 Jet Spur Queen of the Hill Stratum
2004 Fastnet Rock Brannigan Assafa
2003 Abdullah Critical List Bronc
2002 Planchet Blur Choisir
2001 Chongtong North Boy Spectatorial
2000 St Petersburg Cosset Ceffyl