Memsie Stakes Race Information

The Memsie Stakes is a 1400 metre weight-for-age race for horses three-years-old and over run by the Melbourne Racing Club. It is held at Caulfield in late August or early September and is now the first Melbourne Group 1 race of the racing year.

  • Race Type: Group 1
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: WFA, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $750,000
  • Date: Saturday 2 September 2023

Memsie Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Memsie Stakes Preview and results

See the 2022 Memsie Stakes Preview and results

See the 2021 Memsie Stakes Preview and results

See the 2020 Memsie Stakes Preview and results

The Memsie Stakes was first held over 8 furlongs (about 1600 metres) in 1899 and was won by Veneda. It was held over 9 furlongs (about 1800 metres) from 1900 to 1970 then 1600 metres from 1971 to 1979. It became a Group 2 race in 1979 and in 1980 the distance was reduced to 1400 metres. The field has a maximum of 16 runners. In 2013 it was elevated to Group 1 status.

The race is rarely contested by three-year-olds as it is too early in the spring, with Longfella in 1972 the only 3YO winner. In recent years many of the winners have been having their first start from a spell. The race is a good lead-up to the Underwood Stakes held four weeks later. Mares have a great record in this race and so do stayers. The Memsie Stakes was the only race less than 2000 metres that Makybe Diva, three-times Melbourne Cup winner, ever won.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Snapdancer (2022)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Longfella (1972); Filly – none

Multiple winners: Behemoth (2020 & 2021); Sunline (2000 & 2001); Sir Boom (1996 & 1999); Yangtze (1965 & 1966); Lord (1958, 1959, 1960 & 1961); Coppice (1954 & 1955); Comic Court (1949 & 1950); Ajax (1938, 1939 & 1940); Waltzing Lily (1933 & 1934); Heroic (1925 & 1926); Eurythmic (1920, 1921 & 1922).

Fastest time (1400m): Scales Of Justice (2019) 1:22:14

Interesting trivia: In 1936 Valiant Chief and Charles Fox dead-heated. In 1900 Eirisdale and Massinissa dead-heated.

Previous winners of the Memsie Stakes

This race is the launching pad for the spring carnival and attracts many quality horses preparing for longer races as well as fitter sprinter-milers who target this race at the end of a winter campaign. Many Memsie winners have gone on to win the Underwood Stakes and seven have won the Cox Plate, including So You Think , Makybe Diva and Sunline. The race has produced three Melbourne Cup winners with Makybe Diva, Comic Court and Artilleryman.

Eleven horses have won the race on multiple occasions with Behemoth the most recent in 2020 and 2021. Lord won it four times in 1958, 1959, 1969 and 1961. Past winners include many famous racehorses with Manikato, Galilee, Rising Fast, Comic Court, Ajax and Phar Lap. Trainers Bart Cummings and Lee Freedman have both had 3 winners, as did Colin Hayes. Darren Gauci is the most successful jockey in modern times with 3 wins.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Mr Brightside Princess Grace I Wish I Win
2022 Snapdancer I’m Thunderstruck Cascadian
2021 Behemoth Beau Rossa Tofane
2020 Behemoth Mr Quickie Glenfiddich
2019 Scales Of Justice So Si Bon Alizee
2018 Humidor Kementari Kings Will Dream
2017 Vega Magic Black Heart Bart Tosen Stardom
2016 Black Heart Bart Rising Romance (NZ) Mahuta
2015 Boban Entirely Platinum Stratum Star
2014 Dissident Sweet Idea Puissance De Lune
2013 Atlantic Jewel Ferlax Super Cool
2012 Sincero Happy Trails Second Effort
2011 King’s Rose Heart Of Dreams Red Colossus
2010 So You Think Whobegotyou Shoot Out
2009 Mic Mac Whobegotyou Zarita
2008 Weekend Hussler Maldivian Pompeii Ruler
2007 Miss Finland Haradasun Tipungwuti
2006 El Segundo (NZ) Casual Pass Apache Cat
2005 Makybe Diva Barely A Moment Regal Roller
2004 Regal Roller Pacific Dancer (NZ) Delzao
2003 Le Zagaletta Super Elegant Out Of Options
2002 Magical Miss Fields Of Omagh Dash For Cash
2001 Sunline (NZ) Piavonic Rum
2000 Sunline (NZ) Umrum Oliver Twist
1999 Sir Boom The Message Londolozi
1998 Dane Ripper Willoughby La Volta
1997 Tarnpir Lane Bradson Doriemus
1996 Sir Boom Seascay Poetic King
1995 Island Morn Station Hand Blevic
1994 Bundy Lad Spanish Mix Redding
1993 Palace Reign Never Undercharge Naturalism
1992 Naturalism Star Of The Realm Durbridg
1991 Redelva Street Ruffian Mannerism
1990 The Phantom Pago Mystery Ark Regal
1989 Almurtajaz Dark Beau Kairau Lad
1988 Rancho Ruler My Steeley Dan Fair Sir
1987 Rubiton Society Bay Cossack Warrior
1986 Dazzling Duke King Phoenix Lockley’s Tradition
1985 Delightful Belle Bow Mistress Contemplation
1984 King Delamere Alibhai Bow Mistress
1983 Red Tempo
Strawberry Road
1982 Manikato Galleon Lawman
1981 Silver Bounty Top Of The Ladder Lawman
1980 Tolhurst Turf Ruler Marjoleo

From the archives:

Memsie Stakes Preview & Tips 2018

Track: Good  Weather: Fine

There is a field of 11 for the $1,000,000 Memsie Stakes. The early favourite is Vega Magic who won this race last year, has won 13 of his 22 starts, and won the Group 3 Bletchingly Stakes over 1200m at Caulfield when resuming. Second favourite is Kementari who goes well first-up and resumed for 2nd in the Missile Stakes then ran 4th in the Winx Warwick Stakes. Third favourite is Happy Clapper who resumes here and won the Group 1 Canterbury Stakes first-up last campaign.

Grunt won all 4 starts last campaign, culminating in the Australian Guineas, then resumed for 1 length 5th in the Group 2 PB Lawrence Stakes and has drawn the inside barrier. Showtime won the PB Lawrence Stakes and has placed in two of four Group 1 attempts. Kings Will Dream has won 6 of his 9 races and resumed for 4th in the PB Lawrence Stakes. Black Heart Bart was 2nd in this race last year and won it in 2016. He was lame when 9th in the PB Lawrence last start and has won five Group 1 races. The other 4 runners are all over 20 to 1 including Dollar For Dollar who has won 8 of his 16 races.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
3 Vega Magic
6 Dollar For Dollar
1 Happy Clapper
9 Grunt