Canterbury Stakes Race Information

The Canterbury Stakes is an important middle-distance sprint event in the Sydney autumn racing carnival. It is a weight-for-age 1300 metre race for horses three-years-old and up, and is held by the Australian Turf Club at Randwick in March.

  • Race Type: Group 1
  • Distance: 1300 metres
  • Conditions: Weight for age, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $500,000
  • Date: Saturday 6 March 2021

Canterbury Stakes Race History

The Canterbury Stakes began as a principal race over 6 furlongs. It was first held in 1929 and was won by Amounis. In 1973 the distance was converted to 1200 metres, and in 1979 the race was elevated to Group 2 status. In 2004 the distance was changed to 1300 metres, although in 2008 it was run over 1550 metres. It was upgraded to Group 1 level in 2013 and was moved to Randwick for the first  time in 2014.

The race was run on Randwick Guineas day in 2014. Previously it was the same day as the Group 1 Coolmore Classic and Ranvet Stakes, and the Group 2 Moet & Chandon Stakes, Todman Stakes and Phar Lap Stakes. The winner is exempt from ballot for the George Ryder Stakes held 2 weeks later on Golden Slipper Day. Runners often go on to contest the TJ Smith Stakes and the All Aged Stakes. Major lead-up races are the Group 2 Challenge Stakes over 1000 metres the week before and the Group 2 Apollo Stakes over 1400 metres in February.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win; Cosmic Endeavour (2015)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Holler (2016); Filly – Emancipation (1983)

Multiple winners: More Joyous (2011 & 2012); At Sea (1988 & 1989); Sky High (1961 & 1962); San Domenco (1950 & 1951); Holdfast (1930, 1931 & 1932).

Fastest time (1300m): Trapeze Artist (2019) 1:14:19

Interesting trivia:

Previous winners of the Canterbury Stakes

Five horses have managed to win this race on more than one occasion. The most recent was More Joyous who scored in 2011 and 2012. At Sea won in 1988 and 1989, Sky High won in 1961 and 1962, San Domenco won in 1950 and 1951 and Holdfast won in three consecutive years of 1930, 1931 and 1932.

The most successful jockey in the Canterbury Stakes is Darren Beadman. He has won seven times in 1988, 1989, 2000, 2004, 2006, 2007 and 2008.

Year Winner Second Third
2021 Savatiano Mizzy Masked Crusader
2020 The Bostonian Savatiano Mister Sea Wolf
2019 Trapeze Artist Shoals Prompt Response
2018 Happy Clapper Global Glamour Invincible Gem
2017 Le Romain Chautauqua Hauraki
2016 Holler First Seal Kermadec
2015 Cosmic Endeavour Catkins Criterion
2014 Appearance Zoustar Red Tracer
2013 Pierro More Joyous Solzhenitsyn
2012 More Joyous Monton Metal Bender
2011 More Joyous Love Conquers All Demerit
2010 Hot Danish Mr Baritone Demerit
2009 All Silent Forensics Royal Discretion
2008 Mentality Racing To Win Sniper’s Bullet
2007 Malcolm Cheeky Choice Kosi Bay
2006 Paratgroopers Patezza Dance Hero
2005 Dance Hero Falkirk Ike’s Dream
2004 Yall Grand Armee True Glo
2003 Defier Cosmic Rays Gordo
2002 Empire Diamond Dane Shogun Lodge
2001 Shogun Lodge Assertive Lad El Mirada
2000 Easy Rocking Referral Guineas

Canterbury Stakes Preview & Tips 2018

Track: Soft  Weather: Fine

There are only 9 runners for the $500,000 Bisley Workwear Canterbury Stakes and the betting is very open. The early favourite is Clearly Innocent who got into all sorts of problems when resuming for 6th in the Group 3 Southern Cross Stakes which he arguably should have won. On the second line of betting are Epsom winner Happy Clapper who has a great first-up record, and Global Glamour who was caught near the line for a close 2nd in the Group 2 Apollo Stakes over 1400m last start.

Endless Drama won the Apollo Stakes, while Invincible Gem has an excellent first-up record and resumes here. Showtime was headed late for 3rd in the Futurity Stakes and may appreciate the shorter distance. Foxplay returned for a close 3rd in the Millie Fox and has a good record at the track. Tulip won the Group 3 Typhoon Tracy Stakes last outing. Derryn is the outsider in the field.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
1 Happy Clapper
3 Endless Drama
2 Clearly Innocent
7 Global Glamour