Coolmore Classic Race Information

The Coolmore Classic is a 1500 metre race for fillies and mares run under quality handicap conditions. It is held at Rosehill on the opening day of the Sydney Turf Club’s Golden Slipper Festival in March.

  • Race Type: Group 1
  • Distance: 1500 metres
  • Conditions: Quality Handicap, 3YO & upwards, Fillies & mares
  • Track: Rosehill Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $1,000,000
  • Date: Saturday 16 March 2024

Coolmore Classic Race History

See the 2024 Coolmore Classic Preview and results.

See the 2023 Coolmore Classic Preview and results.

See the 2022 Coolmore Classic Preview and results.

The Coolmore Classic was originally registered as the NSW Thoroughbred Breeders’ Stakes and was first run in 1973 when it was won by Miss Personality. It has had many name changes being known as the Rosemount Wines Classic, the Winfield Classic, Orlando Wines Classic, the Marlboro Classic, and the STC Fillies & Mares Classic. In 2005 the registered name of the Coolmore Classic became the TAD Kennedy Stakes in memory of former STC chairman Tom Kennedy.

Major lead-up races for the Coolmore Classic are the Group 2 Surround Stakes for three-year-old fillies over 1400 metres and the Group 3 Millie Fox Stakes for fillies and mares over 1300 metres. The winner is exempt from the Doncaster ballot although only Skating (1993) and Sunline (2002) have won the Coolmore Classic – Doncaster double. Most runners continue on to the Queen Of The Turf Stakes.

Three-year-old fillies have won around half of the runnings of this race. As many more mares than fillies have started in the race it seems that the conditions must favour the younger horses. Many of the winners had their lead-up in the Surround Stakes.

Useful Facts

Last 3YO filly to win; Typhoon Tracy (2009)

Multiple winners: Sunline (2000 & 2002)

Fastest time (1500m): Shindig (1998 1:27:21

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Coolmore Classic

The race is won by top quality fillies and mares, and Sunline is the only horse to win more than once (2000 and 2002). Bounding Away is the only Golden Slipper winner to win (1986 Slipper and 1987 Coolmore). The Coolmore Classic and Queen Of The Turf Stakes double has been won by Favoured (1974) and Camino Rose (1999), although Typhoon Tracy won the 2009 Coolmore Classic and the 2010 Queen Of The Turf.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Zougotcha Semana Kimochi
2023 Espiona Pride Of Jenni Sheeza Belter
2022 Lighthouse Mirra Vision Hinged
2021 Krone Mizzy Dame Giselle
2020 Con Te Partiro Miss Fabulass Noire
2019 Dixie Blossoms El Dorado Dreaming Princess Posh
2018 Daysee Doom Oregon’s Day Silent Sedition
2017 Heavens Above Silent Sedition Danish Twist
2016 Peeping Azkadellia Solicit
2015 Plucky Belle First Seal Diamond Drille
2014 Steps In Time Sweet Idea Catkins
2013 Appearance Red Tracer Norzita
2012 Ofcourseican Secret Admirer King’s Rose
2011 Aloha Jersey Lily Melito
2010 Alverta Gold Water Palacio De Cristal
2009 Typhoon Tracy Culminate (NZ) Gallant Tess
2008 Eskimo Queen (NZ) Hot Danish Deloraine
2007 Tuesday Joy (NZ) Doubting Divine Madonna
2006 Regal Cheer Star Shiraz Mnemosyne
2005 Danee Martine Forum Floozie (NZ) Johan’s Toy
2004 Shamekha Private Steer Forum Floozie (NZ)
2003 Bollinger Lovely Jubly Galapagos Girl
2002 Sunline (NZ) Gentle Genius Nanny Maroon
2001 Porto Roca Lady Mulan (NZ) Belle du Jour
2000 Sunline (NZ) Beat The Fade (NZ) Noircir
1999 Camino Rose Bonanova Rainbow Bubbles
1998 Shindig Camino Rose Stella Cadente
1997 Assertive Lass Hello Darl Misty Dawn
1996 Chlorophyll Bionic Bess Shame
1995 Flitter Moment’s Pleasure Aragen
1994 Kapchat Mahoenui Lass Flitter
1993 Skating Lovey Tarare
1992 Acushla Marie Let’s Hurry Mamzelle Perdu
1991 Quicksilver Cindy Whisked Dual Treasures
1990 Happy Sailing Phillipa Rush A Little Kiss
1989 Red Express Swiftsynd Twining
1988 Strawberry Fair Glory Girl Dinky Flyer
1987 Bounding Away Dinky Flyer Just Blooming
1986 Satin Sand Plain Cover Travel Light
1985 Avon Angel Winged Keel Eastern Bay
1984 Emancipation Tempestuous Royal Regatta
1983 Hooplahannah Royal Regatta C’Est Si Bon
1982 Sheraco Pure Of Heart Royal Paree
1981 Cordon Rose Market Blazing Bags
1980 Stage Hit Great Klaire Lowan Star
1979 Phar Talk Joyita Christole
1978 Perincess Talaria Lady Athenaia Sarsha’s Choice
1977 Somerset Pride Lusitania Apollua
1976 Crimson Cloud Somerset Pride Visit
1975 Vicenza Blazing Spirit Blazing Spirit
1974 Favoured Zahedi Just Topic
1973 Miss Personality Little Gum Nut Glenfield Lass

From the archives;

Coolmore Classic Preview & Tips 2018

Track: Soft    Weather: Overcast

There are 18 fillies and mares in the $600,000 Coolmore Classic, following the early scratching of Shumookh. The betting is very open and eight of the runners had their last in the Group 2 Guy Walters Stakes. The early favourite is Egg Tart who ran on well when resuming for a length 4th over 1300m and looks suited here. Second favourite is Dixie Blossoms who won the Guy Walters, but goes better at Randwick than she does here. Third favourite is Raiment who was 2nd in the Guy Walters last start and generally improves third-up.

Silent Sedition ran 2nd in this race last year and comes off an impressive 2.25 length win in the G3 Mannerism Stakes. Francaletta was 3rd in the Guy Walters and is a Group winner in New Zealand. Alizee resumed with a win in the Light Fingers and was 6th in the Surround Stakes second-up. Daysee Doom won the G2 Millie Fox Stakes last start and always goes well at this track. All other runners are currently at 11 to 1 or longer including Heavens Above who won this race last year, and Danish Twist who ran 3rd.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
2 Silent Sedition
7 Egg Tart
 1 Dixie Blossoms
3 Daysee Doom