W H Stocks Stakes Race Information

The W H Stocks Stakes is a 1600 metre weight for age race for mares aged four years and over run by the Moonee Valley Racing Club in September. It is run at Moonee Valley as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Weight for age, Mares 4YO & upwards
  • Track: Moonee Valley, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $300,000
  • Date:Friday 29 September 2023

W H Stocks Stakes Race History

See the 2023 W H Stocks Stakes Preview and results

See the 2022 W H Stocks Stakes Preview and results

See the 2021 W H Stocks Stakes Preview and results

Coming soon.

Fun Facts

Multiple winners: I Am A Star (2017 & 2018)

Fastest time (1600m): Amelia’s Jewel (2023) 1:34:37  New track record

Interesting trivia: 2004 winner She’s Archie ran 2nd to Makybe Diva in the 2003 Melbourne Cup.

Past winners of the W H Stocks Stakes

Horses that perform well in this race often go on to perform well in Group 1 races.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Amelia’s Jewel Pride Of Jenni Deny Knowledge
2022 Daisies Elusive Express Lady Of Honour
2021 So You Assume Magna Bella Quantum Mechanic
2020 Mystic Journey Perfect Jewel One More Try
2019 Princess Jenni Rondinella Oceanex
2018 I Am A Star Mrs Gardenia Samovare
2017 I Am A Star Flying Jess Hell Or Highwater
2016 Don’t Doubt Mamma Kaniana Miss Rose De Lago
2015 Fenway May’s Dream Scratchy Bottom
2014 Dear Demi Solicit Commanding Jewel
2013 Atlantic Jewel Oasis Bloom Oriental Ruby
2012 Oasis Bloom Spirit Song Chateau Margaux
2011 King’s Rose Pinker Pinker Lady Lynette
2010 Avienus Belscenica Lady Lynette
2009 Zarita Cats Whisker Soul Diva
2008 Tuesday Joy Devil Moon Bird of Fire
2007 Devil Moon Brom Felinity Hidden Strings
2006 Astrodame Brockman’s Lass Belle Bizaare
2005 Flowerdrum Honest Politician Taken
2004 She’s Archie Annie La Vie Zumanity
2003 Sunday Joy Liberty Rose Monde Special
2002 Gold Lottey Tyrolean Visage
2001 Lady Marion Tickle My Tyrolean
2000 Hula Wonder Camarena Mrs Bentley
1999 Sorrento Savannah Rose Of Dane
1998 Londolozi Will Fly Gliding Light
1997 Sweet Delight Denrobe Queenstown Kate
1996 Arctic Scent Suma Peace Macrosa
1995 The Penny Ferragamo Snap
1994 Alcove Excited Angel Trivia Lass
Lady’s Way
1993 Bon Precieux Antwerp My Sparkling Star
1992 Gatherneaux Mamzelle Perdu Acushia Marie
1991 Pacific Rockets Galore Blame
1990 Natural Wonder Memphis Blues Miss Noralee
1989 Top Dance Lady Have A Heart Gay Belle
1988 Hazy Pond Voltage Sister Shirley
1987 Gielgud’s Belle Pseudonym Miss Princess Calabrina
1986 Rompalong Kia Miss Cooktown Lady
1985 Digger’s Lass Coral Coast Bev Rose
1984 Change The Tune Gay Tulip Suzendy
1983 Matternot Lady Vanessa Sannka
1982 Fiery Pax Lemon Princess Princess Hally
1981 Countess Caboul Wild Lunch Bread Eater
1980 Dondal Firefall What’s In A Name
1979 Country Belle Loaming Dondal
1978 Bold Bridget Minuetto Maybe Quick
1977  ** Race not run **
1976 Princess Veronica Ruby Royale El Katrina
1975 Hot Cross Underestimated Yumbalara
1974 Dowling Lass Brolga Lass Better Rose
1973 Mellition Big Dee Classic Wave