Let’s Elope Stakes Race Information

The Let’s Elope Stakes is a 1400 metre set weights plus penalties race for mares aged four year old and upward. It is run by the Victoria Racing Club at Flemington in September as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, Mares 4YO & upwards
  • Track: Flemington, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $300,000
  • Date: Saturday 10 September 2022

Let’s Elope Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Let’s Elope Stakes Preview and results

See the 2022 Let’s Elope Stakes Preview and results

See the 2021 Let’s Elope Stakes Preview and results

Coming soon.

Fun Facts

Multiple winners: No horse has won more than once

Fastest time (1400m): Commanding Jewel (2013) 1:22:5

Let’s Elope Stakes & Caulfield Cup: Mannerism (1992)

Interesting trivia: Lee Freedman trained six winners in 12 years from 1994 to 2004.

Past winners of the Let’s Elope Stakes

Winners of past Let’s Elope Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Amelia’s Jewel Life Lessons El Patroness
2022 Kissonallforcheeks Lady Of Honour Yearning
2021 Turaath Mystic Journey Still A Star
2020 Pretty Brazen Arcadia Queen Bonvicini
2019 Spanish Whisper Miss Siska Fidelia
2018 I Am A Star Bella Martini Sheezdashing
2017 Sword Of Light Swampland Lovani
2016 Don’t Doubt Mamma Thames Court Manageress
2015 Amicus Precious Gem May’s Dream
2014 Commanding Jewel Dear Demi Nautical
2013 Commanding Jewel Catkins A Time For Julia
2012 Zurella Hi Belle Total Attraction
2011 Pinker Pinker Mid Summer Music Parables
2010 No Evidence Needed Response Live In Sin
2009 Cats Whisker Romneya Symphony Miss
2008 Mimi Lebrock Bellini Rose Devil Moon
2007 Devil Moon Eskimo Queen Bellini Rose
2006 Rewaaya Be Delicious Celtic Bloom
2005 Dea Timbourina Catscan
2004 Beautiful Gem Galvanized Demerger
2003 Ain’t Seen Nothin Classic Patches Reactive
2002 Purple Groove Tickle My Crimson Gem
2001 Flushed Miss Power Bird Lolita Star
2000 Tickle My Love’s Choice Monterosso
1999 Zapeace Hula Wonder Follow Gold
1998 Skyrocket Wiggly Woo Lisa’s Game
1997 Derobe Vonanne Red Nile
1996 Rose Of Portland Arctic Scent Clicko
1995 Tolanda Ferragamo Calypso
1994 Amuse Us Hospitable Lovey
1993 Rose of Marizza Azzurro Bouverie Mist
1992 Mannerism Swayaura Pride Of Demus
1991 Shavano Miss Make Up Lady Blame
1990 Natural Wonder Blame Galaway Star
1989 Rancheetah Memphis Blues Hazy Pond
1988 Riva Gleam Sister Shirley Lady Violet
1987 Take My Picture English Charm Glowing Idol