Sir John Monash Stakes Race Information

The Sir John Monash Stakes is an 1100 metre weight for age race run by the Melbourne Racing Club in July. It is run at Caulfield at the end of the Melbourne Winter Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1100 metres
  • Conditions: Weight for age, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $160,000 ($128,000 in 2020 due to COVID-19)
  • Date: Saturday 10 July 2021

Sir John Monash Stakes Race History

See the 2020 Sir John Monash Stakes Preview and Results.

The Sir John Monash Stakes was previously called the Moondah Plate and was renamed in 1998 to honour Sir John Monash who was the Australian military commander during the First World War. A horse called Jugulator won it in 1998. It was a Listed race from 1994 to 2013, and after being elevated to Group 3 status in August 2013 it has been a Group 3 race from 2014 onwards. From 1994 to 2004 it was raced over 1000 metres, then was increased to 1100 metres from 2005 onwards.

It is one of the few Group races run in mid-winter at Caulfield and for many is the sign that the Spring Racing Carnival is not too far away as it begins the early program of Melbourne weight-for-age races that lead into the prestigious Spring Carnival. The Sir John Monash Stakes is the feature race of the day at Caulfield, with no other black-type racing held on the program. Because of it’s timing in the racing calendar it is hard to decide which races are a good lead-up to the Sir John Monash Stakes, as it can attract both local and interstate sprinters including fit in-form winter sprinters and early spring hopefuls racing first-up from a spell. Some horses may have raced in the Queensland Winter Carnival including the Group 3 W J Healy Stakes over 1200m.

Horses that run in the Sir John Monash Stakes may continue on to the Group 3 Bletchingly Stakes held over 1200m at Caulfield two weeks later under the same weight-for-age conditions. The 2018 winner Voodoo Lad went on to run 2nd in the Bletchingly, then went on to win the Group 1 Winterbotton Stakes in Perth. In 2013 Second Effort was 3rd in the Sir John Monash then won the Bletchingly. Sir John Monash Stakes runners can move on to a successful Melbourne Spring Carnival such as 2016 winner Wild Rain who continued on to win the Group 2 McEwen Stakes (1000m) in September before running third in the Group 1 Moir Stakes (1000m) at Moonee Valley. Riziz was 3rd in the Sir John Monash in 2014 and went onto win the Group 3 Spring Stakes in Adelaide the following month.

Sir John Monash Stakes Facts

Last mare to win; Wild Rain (2016)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Lord Of The Sky (2014); Filly – Platelet (2012)

Multiple winners: Super Elegant (2004 & 2005)

Fastest time (1100m): Supido (2017) 1:03:58

Leading jockeys : Luke Nolen has won 3 times in the last 10 years

Interesting trivia: In 2015 Angels Beach and Wild Rain dead-heated for 2nd. Wild Rain came back and won the race in 2016. In the 2002 running of the race the trifecta of Rubitano, Ruby Slipper and Prince Rubiton were all sired by Rubiton, who also sired the winner of the 2007 race, Lucky Secret.  I Am Invincible won in 2009 and sired the 2018 winner Voodoo Lad. Prizemoney was decreased in 2020 because of the coronavirus pandemic.

Aurie’s Star won the VATC Moondah Plate as a ten-year-old in 1942 over 6 furlongs (around 1200m ) at Flemington, when Caulfield had been taken over by the army during the war.

Past winners of the Sir John Monash Stakes

Winners of past Sir John Monash Stakes often continue to the Bletchingly Stakes two weeks later..

Year Winner Second Third
2020 Jungle Edge Viridine I Am Someone
2019 Oak Door Jungle Edge Princess Of Queens
2018 Voodoo Lad Inn Keeper Jukebox
2017 Supido Daytona Grey Murt The Flirt
2016 Wild Rain Trevinder Atmospherical