Winterbottom Stakes Race Information

The Winterbottom Stakes is the major sprint event of the Perth summer racing carnival. It is a weight-for-age 1200 metre race for horses three-years-old and up, and is held by the Western Australia Turf Club at Ascot in November or early December.

  • Race Type: Group 1
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Weight- for-age, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Ascot Racecourse, Perth, Western Australia
  • Prizemoney: $1,500,000
  • Date: Saturday 2 December 2023

Winterbottom Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Winterbottom Stakes Preview and results

See the 2022 Winterbottom Stakes Preview and results

See the 2021 Winterbottom Stakes Preview and results

See the 2020 Winterbottom Stakes Preview and results

The Winterbottom Stakes began as a principal race over 7 furlongs. It was first held in 1952, and was won by Raconteur. In 1973 the distance was converted to 1400 metres, and in 1979 the race was granted Group 2 status. The distance was reduced to 1200 metres in 1993, and in 2003 the race was run at Belmont Park instead of Ascot. In 2011 it became a Group 1 race.

This race is now run one week after the Group 1 Railway Stakes and the WA Guineas which are both over 1600 metres. In previous years the Railway Stakes was run 2 weeks before and in 2009 Ortensia finished sixth in the Railway Stakes a fortnight before her fast-finishing Winterbottom Stakes win.

Major lead-up races are the Group 2 Lee Steere Stakes over 1400 metres held 2 weeks before, the Group 3 Colonel Reeves Stakes over 1100m held on Melbourne Cup day about 2½ weeks before, and the Group 3 Prince Of Wales Stakes over 1200 metres about 4 weeks before. In 1991 M’Lady’s Jewel won the Prince of Wales Stakes, Reeves Stakes, Lee Steere Stakes, Railway Stakes and Winterbottom Stakes.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Graceful Girl (2021)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Hardrada (2002); Filly – Belinda’s Star (1975)

Multiple winners: Buffering (2013 & 2015); Hardrada (2002 & 2003); Belinda’s Star (1975 & 1976); La Trice (1970 & 1971); Asteroid (1953 & 1955).

Fastest time (1200m): Buffering (2015) 1:08:1

Interesting trivia: 1982 winner Fimiston sired 2001 winner Fair Alert and 2004 winner Ellicorsam. 1952 winner Raconteur sired 1972 winner Acello.

Past winners of the Winterbottom Stakes

Five horses have managed to win this race on more than one occasion. Buffering won in 2013 and 2015, Hardrada won in 2002 and 2003, Belinda’s Star won in 1975 and 1976, La Trice won in 1970 and 1971 and Asteroid won in 1953 and 1955. The winner of the first Winterbottom Stakes in 1952, Raconteur, sired the 1972 winner Acello. The 1982 winner Fimiston sired 2001 winner Fair Alert and 2004 winner Ellicorsam.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Overpass Oscar’s Fortune Ripcord
2022 Paulele Kissonallforcheeks This’ll Testya
2021 Graceful Girl Stageman Elite Street
2020 Elite Street Celebrity Queen Rock Magic
2019 Hey Doc Vital Silver Rock Magic
2018 Voodoo Lad Enticing Star Malaguerra
2017 Viddora Fuhryk Durendal
2016 Takedown Sheidel Rock Magic
2015 Buffering Watermans Bay Fast’n’Rocking
2014 Magnifisio Watermans Bay Shining Knight
2013 Buffering Moment Of Change Watermans Bay
2012 Barakey Power Princess Spirit Of Boom
2011 Ortensia Rarefied Grand Nirvana
2010 Hadabeclorka King Kool Kat Whitefriars
2009 Ortensia Idyllic Prince Black In Time
2008 Takeover Target Apache Cat Marasco
2007 Glory Hunter Charlie Beau Dark Target
2006 Marasco Grasspatch Girl Electric General
2005 Miss Andretti Avenida Madero Rescuer
2004 Ellicorsam Redwoldt Modem
2003 Hardrada Irish Pride Golden Delicious
2002 Hardrada Kaprats Fair Alert
2001 Fair Alert Old Fashion Corporate Bruce
2000 Noble Sky Star System Victory Trump

From the archives:

2018 Winterbottom Stakes Preview & Tips

Track: Good   Weather: Fine

There are 15 runners for the $1,000,000 2018 Crown Perth Winterbottom Stakes. The early favourite is 2017 winner Viddora who followed a strong win in the Moir Stakes with a disappointing 10th in The Everest but has won a trial since. Second favourite is Enticing Star who won 8 races in a row before 6th in the Lee Steere Stakes where she was in season and lacked her usual dash. Third in the market is Malaguerra who resumed for 10th in the Darley Classic then 12th in the Manikato Stakes.

Voodoo Lad came 8th in the Manikato and is having his first run here. I’ll Have A Bit has been a close 3rd in Listed races at her last two starts. Runson has 2 wins from 4 races this campaign. Malibu Style won the Listed Doveton Stakes last start. Dainty Tess has won 10 races on this track. All other runners are currently 16 to 1 or longer, including Durendal who won the Colonel Reeves Stakes last start.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
10 Viddora
13 Enticing Star
3 Durendal
12 I’ll Have A Bit