The Moir Stakes is a 1000 metre weight-for-age race for horses three-years-old and over run by the Moonee Valley Racing Club. It is held at Moonee Valley in late September or early October.

  • Race Type: Group 1, 3YO & Up WFA
  • Distance: 1000 metres
  • Track: Moonee Valley Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Date: Friday 25 September 2020, night meeting

The Moir Stakes was scheduled to be run for the first time in 1975, but the meeting was abandoned due to rain. It was first run in 1976 over 1000 metres and was won by a horse called Scamanda. It was a Principal race from 1976 to 1978 and became a Group 2 race in 1979. From 1996-2002 it was known as the Schweppes Stakes, from 2003-2006 as the Schweppervescence Stakes, and from 2006 to 2012 as the Schweppes Stakes again. In 2007 the distance became 1200 metres, and in 2013 it became a Group 1 race and reverted to the name Moir Stakes. Previously held on Cox Plate day, it is now run 4 weeks earlier. In 2015 the distance was reduced back to 1000 metres.

The Group 2 Schillaci Stakes was the traditional lead-up race for the Moir Stakes, but with the Moir being held earlier a new pattern is sure to emerge. The race is usually won by genuine Group 1 level sprinters. In recent years the race has been won by mares, entires and geldings. Golden Slipper winner She Will Reign won in 2017 at her first run as a three-year-old. The last three-year old filly winner before that was Virage De Fortune in 2005 and last 3yo male Mistegic in 2001.

Moir Stakes Final Field & Odds 2018

See below for early markets for this years Moir Stakes.

Moir Stakes Preview & Tips 2018

Track: Good Weather: Overcast

There is a full field of 13 for the $500,000 Charter Keck Cramer Moir Stakes. The short-priced favourite is Nature Strip who has won his last 4 races straight including beating the track record when winning the Group 2 Mitty’s McEwen Stakes at this track and distance 3 weeks ago. Second favourite is Houtzen who was 2nd in that race when resuming and has won all three of her second-up starts. Third in the market is Viddora who was 2nd in this race last year – she hasn’t started since May, but goes well first-up and won a Cranbourne trial recently.

Ball Of Muscle was 2nd in this race in 2015 and has returned in great form to win the G3 The Heath over 1100m followed by the G2 The Shorts over 1100m  and is very speedy. Brave Smash ran 3rd behind him in both those races. Snitty Kitty resumes here, loves this distance and goes well first-up. Voodoo Lad came from well back to grab 2nd in The Heath but has drawn wide. All other runners are currently over 16 to 1.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
6 Nature Strip
8 Houtzen
3 Ball Of Muscle
12 Snitty Kitty

Previous winners of the Moir Stakes:

Four horses have won this race more than once – Buffering (2012, 2014 and 2015), Black Caviar (2010 and 2011), With Me (1990 and 1991) and The Judge (1978 and 1979). There have been 2 dead-heats with Clay Hero and Good Old Ted in 1989, and The Judge and Grey Sapphire in 1979. Several winners of this race have gone on to represent Australia in international races.

Victoria Peak who won in 1980 was a full sister to The Judge who won in 1979 and 1978. The Judge was the great grandsire of 2001 winner Mistegic. Other notable winners include Apache Cat, Miss Andretti, Spinning Hill, Falvelon, Schillaci, Placid Ark, Special, and Manikato. Favourites have a good record in this race, and inside barriers are a big plus. Jockey Damien Oliver has won this race 4 times.

Year Winner Second Third
2019 Nature Strip Miss Leonidas Sunlight
2018 Viddora Brave Smash Spright
2017 She Will Reign Viddora Sheidel
2016 Extreme Choice Heatherly Wild Rain
2015 Buffering Ball Of Muscle Angelic Light
2014 Buffering Lankan Rupee Rebel Dane
2013 Samaready Buffering Le Bonsir
2012 Buffering Ready To Rip Thankgodyou’rehere
2011 Black Caviar Doubtful Jack Here De Angels
2010 Black Caviar Hot Danish True Persuasion
2009 Apache Cat Mic Mac Bank Robber
2008 Lucky Secret Bel Ner Mr Baritone
2007 Miss Andretti Gold Edition Let Go Thommo
2006 California Dane Let Go Thommo Poet’s Voice
2005 Virage De Fortune Miss Mooney Moony Imprisoned
2004 Bomber Bill Regimental Gal Dance The Waves
2003 Our Egyptian Raine Spinning Hill Dantana
2002 Spinning Hill Bomber Bill Mistegic
2001 Mistegic Regal Shot Appoint
2000 Falvelon Notoire Super Elegant