Bletchingly Stakes Race Information

The Bletchingly Stakes is a 1200 metre weight for age race run by the Melbourne Racing Club in July. It is run at Caulfield at the end of the Melbourne Winter Racing Carnival and is the last Group race of the racing season.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Weight for age
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 27 July 2024

Bletchingly Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Bletchingly Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Bletchingly Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2021 Bletchingly Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2020 Bletchingly Stakes Preview and results.

The Bletchingly Stakes was first run in 1994 as a Listed race over 1100m at Caulfield when it was won by Poetic King. It is named in honour of the racehorse Bletchingly who was a former champion and a sire. In 1997 it was elevated to a Group 3 race, and in 2004 the distance was increased to the current 1200m. In 2017 only it was held at Sandown Lakeside before returning to Caulfield.

It attracts a mix of horses at the end of their winter campaigns plus horses resuming from a spell hoping to head to the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival, and is the feature race of the day at Caulfield, with no other black-type racing held on the program. It is also the last Group race of the racing season. Winter runners can come from a variety of races including the Group 3 Sir John Monash Stakes over 1100m at Caulfield two weeks earlier. The 2015 winner came from a victory in the Listed Eye Liner Stakes in Queensland, while the 1200m All Victorian Sprint can also be used as a lead-up.

Horses that run in the Bletchingly Stakes may continue on to the Listed Regal Roller Stakes over 1200m at Caulfield, the Group 2 PB Lawrence Stakes or even the Group 1 Memsie Stakes over 1400m. The 2019 winner Scales Of Justice went on to win the Memsie.

Bletchingly Stakes Facts

Last mare to win; Mid Summer Music (2011)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – King Of Sparta (2022); Filly – Thiamandi (2014)

Multiple winners: You Remember (1995 & 1996)

Fastest time (1200m): Apache Cat (2007) 1:09:3

Leading jockeys : Damien Oliver has won 4 times – Vega Magic (2018), Lord Of The Sky (2016), You Remember (1995) and Poetic King (1994).

Interesting trivia: In 2001 Windigo survived a protest from Piavonic, who went on to win the Group 1 Manikato Stakes at Moonee Valley.

Past winners of the Bletchingly Stakes

Winners of past Bletchingly Stakes may continue to the P B Lawrence Stakes over 1400m in mid-August.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Ingratiating General Beau It’sourtime
2022 King Of Sparta Scallopini Mariamia
2021 Sansom Streets of Avalon Isaurian
The Astrologist
2020 Viridine Streets of Avalon Great Again
2019 Scales Of Justice Jungle Edge Cliff’s Edge
2018 Vega Magic Voodoo Lad Jungle Edge
2017 Ability Lankan Rupee Duke of Brunswick
2016 Lord Of The Sky Fast ‘N’ Rocking Mahuta
2015 Smokin’ Joey Platinum Rocker Petrology
2014 Thiamandi Gig Nearest To Pin
2013 Second Effort Academy Jack Launay
2012 Ready To Rip Zamorar Dusty Star
2011 Mid Summer Music Rue Maple Stanzout
2010 Shoot Out Stanzout Velocitea
2009 Let Go Thommo Orange County Mr Baritone
2008 Commanding Hope Lucky Diva Red Arrow
2007 Apache Cat Haradasun Honalee
2006 Minson Red Dazzler Snort
2005 Regal Roller Super Elegant Le Zagaletta
2004 Le Zagaletta Yell Elvstroem
2003 Super Elegant Ruby Slipper The Big Chill
2002 Rubitano Ruby Slipper Dandy Kid
2001 Windigo Piavonic Flavour
2000 Dandy Kid Miss Pennymoney St Chrisoph
1999 Sports Carnelian Oliver Twist
1998 Jugulator Catainer Royal Rubiton
1997 Blazing Reality Simply Believe Red Hope
1996 You Remember Sequalo Street Talk
1995 You Remember Sequalo Plushka
1994 Poetic King Keltrice Street Ruffian