McEwen Stakes Race Information

The McEwen Stakes is a 1000 metre weight-for-age race run by the Moonee Valley Racing Club held in late August or early September. It is run at Moonee Valley as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1000 metres
  • Conditions: Weight for age, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Moonee Valley, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $300,000
  • Date: Saturday 9 September 2023

McEwen Stakes Race History

See the 2023 McEwen Stakes Preview and results

See the 2022 McEwen Stakes Preview and results

See the 2021 McEwen Stakes Preview and results

See the 2020 McEwen Stakes Preview and results

The race was first run in 1995 over 1000m at Caulfield as an unlisted race and was won by a horse called Sequalo. It moved to Moonee Valley in 1996 then became a Listed race in 1997. It was upgraded to a Group 3 race in 2006 then was upgraded to its current Group 2 status in 2013.

Fun Facts

Last mare to win: Imperatriz (2023)

Last 3YO to win: C&G Kuroshio (2013); Filly – no filly has won

McEwen Stakes & Manikato Stakes: Miss Andretti (2006)

Interesting trivia: Nicconi won in 2009 and sired winners Faatinah (2019) and Nature Strip (2018)

Past winners of the McEwen Stakes

Winners of past McEwen Stakes include some talented sprinters who have gone on to win Group 1 races.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Imperatriz Rothfire Giga Kick
2022 Rothfire Zoustyle Coolangatta
2021 The Inferno Portland Sky September Run
2020 Bella Vella Ashlor Brooklyn Hustle
2019 Faatinah Bons Away Eduardo
2018 Nature Strip Houtzen Shoals
2017 Russian Revolution Heatherly Houtzen
2016 Wild Rain Furnaces Heatherly
2015 Chautauqua Flamberge Furnaces
2014 Angelic Light Lankan Rupee Eloping
2013 Kuroshio Moment Of Change General Truce
2012 Bel Sprinter Platelet Snitzem
2011 Buffering Crystal Lily Atomic Force
2010 Hay List Catapulted Reward For Effort
2009 Nicconi Morgan Dollar Secret Flyer
2008 Kaphero Morgan Dollar Lucky Secret
2007 Here De Angels Gold Edition Dr Nipandtuck
2006 Miss Andretti Sassbee Cargo Cult
2005 Strikeline Truly Wicked Titanic Jack
2004 Edgeton Reactive Mistegic
2003 Yell The Big Chill Dantana
2002 Mistegic Shaye Spice Aragonce
2001 Strategic Image Sports Ateates
2000 Testa Rossa Sports Chattanooga
1999 Theatre Flavour The Shiner
1998 Flavour Towkay Paint
1997 Red Hope Sequalo Bialia
1996 Sequalo Grand Baie Sublimate