Doncaster Handicap

The Doncaster Handicap, held at Randwick Racecourse in Sydney, Australia, is the most famous mile on the Australian racing calendar.  The Group One race, for three-year-olds and up, is contested over 1600 metres and  has a current prize of $3,000,000.

  • Race Type: Group 1 Thoroughbred
  • Distance: 1,600 metres
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Date: Saturday 4 April 2015

One of the two great mile handicap races run at Randwick, the Doncaster was first staged in 1866. It is the April counterpart of the $600,000 Epsom Handicap, staged in October. Each race takes its name from a famous English racecourse.

Many great horses have won the Doncaster, including several who have also won the Epsom. Super Impose created history in 1990 and 1991 by becoming the only horse to win both races on two occasions.

Doncaster Handicap Final Field & Odds 2015

See below for the early markets for this years Doncaster Mile.

‘Odds not currently available’

Doncaster Handicap Preview & Tips 2015

Track: Heavy    Weather: Overcast

There is a full field of 20 plus 4 emergencies for the $3,000,000 The Star Doncaster Mile. The betting is fairly open with most of the favoured runners drawing wide barriers. The early favourite is three-year-old Hallowed Crown (barrier 23) who is already a multiple Group winner and has 6 wins and a place from 8 starts. Second favourite is Kermadec (barrier 19) who is 2nd emergency and may not get a start, after a big run for 3rd in the George Ryder. Third favourite is Pornichet following a dominant win in a Group 3 race last week.

Japanese runner Real Impact (barrier 21) fought hard to win the George Ryder at his first Australian start and is one of the chances. Royal Descent (barrier 18) ran 2nd in this race last year and was 4th in the George Ryder and can handle rain-affected tracks. Sweynesse is a promising youngster in the first emergency spot. Suavito has drawn the inside barrier and has won her last 4 races, all at Group level. All other runners are currently 16 to 1 or longer, including Sacred Falls (barrier 20) who has won this race for the last 2 years.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
Mick’s Picks
Ed’s Choice
 10 Hallowed Crown  4 Real Impact  10 Hallowed Crown
 19 Suavito  10 Hallowed Crown  22 Kermadec
 4 Real Impact  19 Suavito  6 Royal Descent
 1 Sacred Falls  6 Royal Descent  4 Real Impact

Past winners of the Doncaster Handicap:

Four horses have won the cup twice in recent years. Sunline won in 1999 and 2002 while Sacred Falls, Pharaoh and Super Impose won back-to-back races. Sacred Falls won in 2013 and 2014, Pharaoh won in 1994 and 1995 and Super Impose in 1990 and 1991. Chris Waller trained the first four past the post in 2014.

Except for one year, the Doncaster Handicap has been held at Randwick Racecourse every year since 1866. That was 1942 when the army took over the track just before the Easter meeting, which was moved to Rosehill Racecourse, also in Sydney.

Dundee won the first running of the race. He captured the Epsom Handicap the previous year and as a result holds a place in Australian horse racing history.

In 1871 there was the only dead heat ever in the race with Sir William and Lottery sharing the prize of what would eventually become the most sought after handicap race in the southern hemisphere.

Year Winner Second Third
2015 Kermadec Real Impact (JPN) Royal Descent
2014 Sacred Falls Royal Descent Weary
2013 Sacred Falls Pierro Norzita
2012 More Joyous Shoot Out Yosei
2011 Sacred Choice Road To Rock Bold Glance
2010 Rangirangdoo Road To Rock Brilliant Light
2009 Vision And Power Black Piranha Whobegotyou
2008 Triple Honour Casino Prince Pinnacles
2007 Haradasun Mentality Divine Madonna
2006 Racing To Win Johan’s Toy Bentley Biscuit
2005 Patezza Court’s In Session Danni Martine
2004 Private Steer Grand Armee Ambulance
2003 Grand Armee Dash For Cash Boreale
2002 Sunline Shogun Lodge Defier
2001 Assertive Lad Shogun Lodge Weasel Will
2000 Over Sunline Zastov