Epsom Handicap Race Information

The Epsom Handicap is one of the two great Group 1 handicap miles (1600m) run by the Australian Jockey Club. The race is held in late September or early October each year at Randwick during the Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 1
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Open handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $1,500,000
  • Date: Saturday 30 September 2023

Epsom Handicap Race History

See the 2023 Epsom Handicap Preview and results

See the 2022 Epsom Handicap Preview and results

See the 2021 Epsom Handicap Preview and results

See the 2020 Epsom Handicap Preview and results

The race is named after the famous Epsom Downs racecourse in the south of England where the highly prestigious three-year-old Classic the Epsom Derby has been contested since 1780. The first Epsom Handicap was run in 1865 and was won by a horse named Dundee. The race is for three year olds and up, and along with the Doncaster is regarded as one of Australia’s classic 1600m races, carrying prizemoney of $1,500,000.

Lead-up races include the Group 2 Theo Marks Stakes over 1300m at Rosehill 3 weeks earlier, Group 3 Bill Ritchie Handicap over 1400m at Randwick 2 weeks earlier, Group 2 Shannon Stakes over 1500m at Rosehill 1 week earlier, 7 Stakes over 1600m at Randwick 2 weeks earlier and Group 2 Tramway Stakes  over 1400m at Randwick 4 weeks earlier.

It is a race which has been contested by some of the best horses in Australia and many top class horses have carried huge weights to win.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Probabeel (2020)

Last 3YO to win: There have been two 3YO winners . Noholme (1959) and Espiegle (1884).

Multiple winners: Desert War (2004 & 2005); Super Impose (1990 & 1991); Toi Port (1963 & 1964); Chatham (1932 & 1933); Amounis (1926 & 1928); Melodrama (1907 & 1908); Masquerade (1882 & 1883).

Fastest time (1600m): Hartnell (2018) 1:32:73

Interesting trivia: Gay Lover was first past the post in 1936 but lost on protest to Capris. In 2022 Top Ranked and Ellsberg dead-heated. In 1925 Metellus and Boaster dead-heated. In 1873 Atalanta and Kingfisher dead-heated.

Previous winners of the Epsom Handicap

Six horses have won the race in consecutive years – Masquerade (1882/1883), Melodrama (1907/1908), Chatham (1932/1933), Toi Port (1963/1964), the wonderful Super Impose (1990/1991) and Desert War (2004/2005). In addition Amounis won twice, but not consecutively, in 1926 and 1928.

The race was not ran in 2007 for the first time in its 142 year history, due to an outbreak of Equine Influenza that stopped horse movements in the area. In 2012 Fat Al gave Gai Waterhouse her 7th Epsom winner, to equal the record set by her father TJ Smith.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Rediener Kovalica Golden Mile
2022 Ellsberg
Top Ranked
 * dead-heat 1st Hinged
2021 Private Eye Aramayo Dalasan
2020 Probabeel Funstar Riodini
2019 Kolding Te Akau Shark Star Of The Seas
2018 Hartnell D’argento Unforgotten
2017 Happy Clapper Tom Melbourne (IRE) Snitzson
2016 Hauraki Dibayani (IRE) Mackintosh (NZ)
2015 Winx Ecuador (NZ) Sons Of John
2014 He’s Your Man (Fr) Royal Descent Hooked
2013 Boban Streama Toydini
2012 Fat Al Ambidexter Rolling Pin
2011 Secret Admirer Pinker Pinker Red Tracer
2010 Captain Sonador Trusting Sacred Choice
2009 Rock Kingdom Rangirangdoo Road To Rock
2008 Theseo Bank Robber Gallant Tess
2007 Race Not Run
2006 Racing To Win Desert War Malcolm
2005 Desert War Johan’s Toy Lotteria
2004 Desert War Our Egyptian Raine Tsuimai
2003 Clangalang Grand Armee Forum Floozie
2002 Excellerator Kingsgate Gordo
2001 Final Fantasy Kingsgate Crawl
2000 Shogun Lodge Landsighting Chinhoyi

From the archives:

2018 Epsom Handicap Preview & Tips:

Track: Soft   Weather: Overcast

There is a full field of 20 runners for the $1,000,000 TAB Epsom Handicap, following the early scratching of Radipole and first emergency Nettoyer. Chris Waller has 8 runners including the two most favoured runners in the early market. Betting is close between the top 3 runners, and the early favourite is D’argento who resumed for 3rd behind Winx in the Winx Stakes then 2nd in the Group 2 Theo Marks Stakes. Second favourite is Australian Oaks winner Unforgotten who resumed for 6th in the Winx Stakes before an impressive 1.3 length win in the Group 2 Chelmsford Stakes last start. Third favourite is Pierata who resumed for a win in the G2 Missile Stakes then ran a close 2nd in the G3 Bill Ritchie Handicap.

Siege Of Quebec chased hard to win the Bill Ritchie last outing but has no wet weather form. Lanciato has worked home solidly at his last 2 starts and was inconvenienced when 8th in the G2 Tramway Stakes. Hartnell followed 2nd in the G2 PB Lawrence Stakes with a close 4th in the G2 Dato’Tan Chin Nam Stakes and goes well third-up. Champagne Cuddles ran 3rd in the G2 Sheraco Stakes then 2nd in the G2 Golden Pendant. Shillelagh resumed for 4th in the G2 Theo Marks Stakes and generally improves second-up. All other runners are currently over 20 to 1 including Muraaqeb who won a benchmark race at this track and distance last start carrying 60kg and only has 50kg here.

Racing returns to Randwick this week for a Super Saturday event with three Group 1, two Group 2, two Group 3, a Listed and a benchmark race. The headline race is the Group 1 $1,000,000 Epsom Handicap over 1600 metres. The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
3 D’argento
7 Unforgotten
2 Pierata
1 Hartnell