Theo Marks Stakes Race Information

The Theo Marks Stakes is a 1300 metre handicap race run by the Australian Turf Club held in September. It is run at Rosehill as part of the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival and the winner is exempt from the ballot for the Epsom Handicap.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1300 metres
  • Conditions: Quality Handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Rosehill Gardens, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 12 September 2020

Theo Marks Stakes Race History

The Theo Marks Stakes is an eligible lead-up race to the Epsom Handicap where the winner gets automatic entry and doesn’t have to go in the ballot to get into the Epsom.

Race history coming soon.

Fun Facts

Last mare to win; Arcadia Queen (2019)

Last 3YO to win: C&G Paratroopers (2005); Filly – no filly has won

Multiple winners: Time And Tide (1963, 1965 & 1966)

Fastest time (1300m): Deploy (2017) 1:14:92

Theo Mark Stakes & Epsom Handicp: Racing To Win (2006); From The Planet (1989); Ricochet (1970); Cabochon (1967); Hans (1955)

Interesting trivia: The race was not run in 2007 due to equine influenza

Past winners of the Theo Marks Stakes

Winners of past Theo Marks Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2020 Wild Planet Funstar Ranier
2019 Arcadia Queen Trope Gem Song
2018 Home Of The Brave D’argento Trapeze Artist
2017 Deploy Egg Tarty Euro Angel