Shannon Stakes Race Information

The Shannon Stakes is a 1500 metre quality handicap race run by the Australian Turf Club in late September. It is run at Rosehill as part of the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival. The winner is exempt from the ballot for the Epsom Handicap.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1500 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Rosehill Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 26 September 2020

Shannon Stakes Race History

Coming soon.

Shannon Stakes Facts

Last mare to win; Lotteria (2005)

Last 3YO to win: None

Multiple winners: Never Quit (1988 & 1989)

Fastest time (1500m): Moral Victory (2016) 1:28:0

Shannon Stakes & Epsom Handicp: Dalmacia (1982)

Interesting trivia: Race not run in 2007 because of equine influenza. Cole Diesel won in 1989 and went on to win the Caulfield Cup.

Past winners of the Shannon Stakes

Winners of past Shannon Stakes often go on to mile races and further.

Year Winner Second Third
2020 I Am Superman Riodini Looks Like Elvis
2019 Mister Sea Wolf Gem Song Tom Melbourne
2018 Noire Kingsguard Youngstar
2017 Washington Heights Mighty Lucky Imposing Lass