The Heath 1100 Race Information

The Heath 1100 is an 1100 metre set weights plus penalties race for horses four-years-old and upwards run by the Melbourne Racing Club in late August or early September. It is held at Caulfield on Memsie Stakes day, and is the second leg of the MRC Everest series.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1100 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 4YO & upwards
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 2 September 2023

The Heath 1100 Race History

See the 2023 The Heath 1100 Preview and results

See the 2022 The Heath 1100 Preview and results

See the 2021 The Heath 1100 Preview and results

See the 2020 The Heath 1100 Preview and results

The race was first run as an unlisted handicap over 1100m at Caulfield in 2002 and was won by Crystal Finale. In 2005 it was upgraded to Listed race, then in 2013 it was upgraded again to its current Group 3 status. It has gone by many names over the years including the Jayco Cup, Martha Cove Classic, Clamms Seafood Stakes, Slickpix Stakes, Stakes and the Resimax Stakes as well as The Heath 1100. “The Heath” is a local historical name for Caulfield Racecourse from its early days of scrub land.

It is held on Group 1 Memsie Stakes day along with the Group 3 HDF McNeil Stakes over 1200 for three-year-olds, the Group 3 WW Cockram Stakes over 1200m for mares and the Listed Heatherlie Handicap over 1700m. History has shown that many horses from this race go on to be Group 1 sprinters.

Horses that are not first-up from a spell often come into The Heath via the Group 3 Aurie’s Star Handicap held at Flemington three weeks before. Sprinters may then head to the McEwen Stakes, Bobbie Lewis Quality, The Shorts in Sydney or the AJ Moir Stakes.

The Heath is the second leg of the MRC Everest series. The first leg is the Listed Regal Roller Stakes held a fortnight earlier, and the third leg is the Listed Testa Rossa Stakes held in late September. Winners of the three legs will each receive a place in the Group 2 Schillaci Stakes in October, exempt from any ballot. The connections of the winner of the Schillaci Stakes are then offered a “Win and you’re In” place in The Everest, Australia’s richest turf race, which is held on the same day as the Caulfield Cup.

The Heath 1100 Facts

Last mare to win: Asfoora (2023)

Multiple winners: No horse has won this race more than once.

Fastest time (1100m): Atomic Force (2011) and Golden Archer (2012) both ran 1:02:72

Aurie’s Star Handicap & The Heath 1100: Voodoo Lad (2017).

Leading trainers: Mick Price with 3 wins (Samaready 2013; Rightfully Yours 2010; Bel Mer 2008)

Interesting trivia: 2003 winner Lovely Jubly is the dam of champion sprinter Chautauqua.

Past winners of The Heath 1100

Winners of past The Heath 1100s include Ball Of Muscle (2018), Voodoo Lad (2017), Redzel (2016), Bounding (2015), Flamberge (2014), Samaready (2013), Golden Archer (2012), Atomic Force (2011), Bel Mer (2008), Undue (2007), Shadoways (2006) and Lovely Jubly (2003).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Asfoora Midwest Ingratiating
2022 Shooting For Gold Generation Star Patrol
2021 Masked Crusader Amish Boy Oxley Road
2020 Diamond Effort Lyre Runson
2019 Crystal Dreamer Gytrash Ball Of Muscle
2018 Ball Of Muscle Voodoo Lad Brave Smash
2017 Voodoo Lad So Si Bon Crystal Dreamer
2016 Redzel Under The Louvre Santa Ana Lane
2015 Bounding Rich Enuff Miss Promiscuity
2014 Flamberge Rifleman Hard Stride
2013 Samaready Chiaramonte Anise
2012 Golden Archer Mr Make Believe Platelet
2011 Atomic Force Testa My Patience Chosen to Fly
2010 Rightfully Yours Stanzout Returntosender
2009 First Command Masked Assassin Here De Angels
2008 Bel Mer Red Element Monet Rules
2007 Undue Typhoon Zed Satin Robes
2006 Shadoways Amyjaye Power Magnus
2005 Classiconi Brannigan Our Quivira
2004 Monahan Tweed Dane Again Pink Fit
2003 Lovely Jubly Captain Clipper Bomber Bill
2002 Crystal Finale Feel The Noise Prince Rubiton