Schillaci Stakes Race Information

The Schillaci Stakes is a 1100 metre weight for age race run by the Melbourne Racing Club in October. It is run at Caulfield as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1100 metres
  • Conditions: Weight for age, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $300,000
  • Date: Saturday 14 October 2023

Schillaci Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Schillaci Stakes Preview and results

See the 2022 Schillaci Stakes Preview and results

See the 2021 Schillaci Stakes Preview and results

See the 2020 Schillaci Stakes Preview and results

Coming soon.

Pathway to the Manikato.

Schillaci Stakes Facts

Last mare to win: Asfoora (2023)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Star Turn (2016); Filly – Halibery (2003)

Multiple winners: Black Caviar (2010& 2011); Street Ruffian (1990 & 1991)

Fastest time (1100m): Trekking (2019) 1:02:32

Fastest time (1000m): Moss Rocket (1995) 0:56:10

Interesting trivia: In 1996 Sequalo And Sword dead-heated for first.

Past winners of the Schillaci Stakes

Winners of past Schillaci Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Asfoora Uncommon James Chain Of Lightning
2022 Paulele Ingratiating Zoustyle
2021 Savatoxl Dosh Bella Nipotina
2020 Dirty Work Diamond Effort Octane
2019 Trekking Ball Of Muscle The Bostonian
2018 Ball Of Muscle Spirit Of Valor Missrock
2017 Super Cash Illustrious Lad Rock Magic
2016 Star Turn Malaguerra Fell Swoop
2015 Alpha Miss Cashed Lankan Rupee
2014 Rubick Platelet Overreach
2013 Unpretentious Pago Rock Kuroshio
2012 Buffering Golden Archer Stirling Grove
2011 Black Caviar Karuta Queen Stirling Grove
2010 Black Caviar Winter King General Truce
2009 Lucky Secret Apache Cat Wanted
2008 Wilander Lucky Secret Gamble Me
2007 Gold Edition Royal Asscher Let Go Thommo
2006 Miss Andretti Green Birdie Nediyms Glow
2005 Segments Danerich Miss Mooney Mooney
2004 Patpong Alizes Regimental Gal
2003 Halibery Dantana Spinning Hill
2002 Spinning Hill Falvelon Mistegic
2001 Mistegic Windigo Falvelon
2000 Falvelon Mannington Super Elegant
1999 Magic Music Paint Northeast Sheila
1998 Show No Emotion Theatre Scandinavia
1997 Mahogany Spartacus Be Discreet
1996 Sequalo Gold Ace Sword
1995 Moss Rocket Chief De Beers Sequalo
1994 Bint Marscay Alannon Barcurra
1993 Green Sweeper Our Pompeii Prince Acumen
1992 King Marauding Mamzelle Perdu Grey Man
1991 Street Ruffian Redelva Sonic Express