Caulfield Cup Race Information

The Caulfield Cup is one of the world’s great 2400 metre handicap races. It is the major Group 1 event held by the Melbourne Racing Club and is normally held on the third Saturday in October.

  • Race Type: Group 1
  • Distance: 2400 metres
  • Conditions: Open handicap
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $5,000,000
  • Date: Saturday 16 October 2021

History Of The Caulfield Cup Race

See the 2021 Caulfield Cup Preview and results

See the 2020 Caulfield Cup Preview and results

The Caulfield Cup was first held in the autumn of 1879 over 1½ miles and was won by a horse named Newminster. It was moved from the autumn to the spring in 1881, which means two races were run that year. In 1972 the metric distance of 2400 metres was adopted, and in 1979 it became a Group 1 race.

Major lead-up races are the Group 1 AJC Metropolitan, Turnbull, Underwood and Caulfield Stakes, the Makybe Diva Stakes, formerly known as the Craiglee Stakes, and the Group 3 Craven Plate. Three-year-olds that go well in the Caulfield Cup will normally contest the Victoria Derby two weeks later, while the older horses will try their hand at the WFA Cox Plate over 2040 metres the following week, the Mackinnon Stakes over 2000  metres two weeks later or the 3200 metre Melbourne Cup.

The race has always been held at Caulfield except for 1940 to 1943 when Caulfield racecourse was used as a troop base and it was held at Flemington. The race has now grown into one of Australia’s toughest handicap races and with prize money worth over 2 million dollars it is an important lead up race to the Melbourne Cup.

Only six horses have won more than one Caulfield Cup in its long history, with the most recent being Ming Dynasty who won in 1977 and 1980. Eleven horses have won the Caulfield-Melbourne Cup double, with the latest being Ethereal in 2001. The race is well- known as the first leg in Australia’s most popular betting double, the Caulfield Cup-Melbourne Cup.

When Verry Elleegant with 55kg won in 2020, giving trainer Chris Waller his first Caulfield Cup, she carried the second highest weight for a winning mare in Caulfield Cup history behind Tranquil Star’s 56kg in 1942.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Verry Elleegant (2020)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Mighty Kingdom (1979); Filly – Sweet Nell (1903)

Multiple winners: Ming Dynasty (1977 & 1980); Rising Fast (1954 & 1955); Whittier (1922 & 1925); Uncle Sam (1912 & 1914); Poseidon (1906 & 1907); Paris (1892 & 1894).

Fastest time (1400m): Diatribe (2000) 2:25:21

Interesting trivia: The first $1 million Caulfield Cup was in 1996 when Arctic Scent won.

Previous Caulfield Cup Winners

The 2012 race was won by French horse Dunaden who out-stayed one of the best Caulfield Cup fields in recent years. Second past the post by only half a length was Alcopop followed by Lights Of Heaven for third.

See below for a list of previous winners for one of Australian horse racings most prestigious events.

Year Winner Second Third
2021 Incentivise Nonconformist Persan
2020 Verry Elleegant Anthony Van Dyck The Chosen One
2019 Mer De Glace (JPN) Vow And Declare Mirage Dancer (GBR)
2018 Best Solution (IRL) Homesman The Cliffsofmoher (IRL)
2017 Boom Time Single Gaze Johannes Vermeer (IRE)
2016 Jameka Scottish (IRE) Exospheric (GB)
2015 Mongolian Khan Trip To Paris (IRE) Our Ivanhowe (GER)
2014 Admire Rakti (JPN) Rising Romance (NZ) Lucia Valentina (NZ)
2013 Fawkner Dandino (GB) Dear Demi
2012 Dunaden Alcopop Lights Of Heaven
2011 Southern Speed Green Moon Tullamore
2010 Descarado Harris Tweed Monaco Consul
2009 Viewed Roman Emperor Vigor
2008 All The Good Nom Du Jeu Barbaricus
2007 Master O’Reilly Douro Valley Princess Coup
2006 Tawqeet Aqua Damore Delta Blues
2005 Railings Eye Popper Mummify
2004 Elvstroem Makybe Diva Grey Song
2003 Mummify Grey Song Distinctly Secret
2002 Northerly Fields Of Omagh Republic Lass
2001 Ethereal Sky Heights Celestial Show
2000 Diatribe Kaapstad Way Fairway

Caulfield Cup Ballot-Exempt Races

There are several races in both Australia and overseas where if you win that race your horse is exempt from the ballot for the Caulfield Cup:

In Australia


  • Nikkei Shin Hun Hai (Japan)
  • Kyoto Kinen (Japan)
  • Sheema Classic (UAE)
  • Jockey Club Stakes (UK)
  • Champions and Chater Cup (Hong Kong)
  • Meguro Kinen (Japan)
  • Grand Prix de Chantilly (France)
  • Hardwicke Stakes (UK)
  • Princess of Wales’s Stakes (UK)

2020 Caulfield Cup

2020 Caulfield Cup Preview

Visit here

2019 Caulfield Cup Preview

Track: Good  Weather: Fine

There is a full field of 18 runners plus 4 emergencies for the $5,000,000 Stella Artois Caulfield Cup, with 7 four-year-olds, and the rest ranging up to nine-year-old Hartnell. There is only one mare, Qafila and the 3rd emergency is also a mare. Many of the overseas horses are having their first Australian start here. Five of the runners had their last start in the Turnbull Stakes over 2000m,  three had their last run in the Metropolitan over 2400m and three in the Herbert Power over 2400m.

The early favourite is Finche, one of the 2 Chris Waller runners, who was a fast closing 2nd in the Turnbull stakes last outing. Second favourite is Japanese stayer Mer De Glace who has won his last 5 starts over distances of 2000m and 2200m. Third favourite is the beautifully-bred import Constantinople who will be having his first Australian start for the Hayes/Dabernig team who won a Group 3 in Ireland earlier in the year and has ran 2nd at his last 3 outings.

Mr Quickie won the Queensland Derby over this distance in the winter and resumed with a solid 3rd in the Makybe Diva, Vow And Declare resumed for 4th in the Turnbull and should improve on that. Mustajeer is a UK import having his first run for Kris Lees and won the Ebor Handicap at York in the UK last start. Hartnell is currently 20 to 1 and has raced well this campaign without winning. He finished 3rd in the Turnbull and is a definite each-way chance. Most of the field is at 20 to 1 or longer.

Bet Now

2019 Caulfield Cup Tips

The following are the top 5 selections for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
6 Finche
11 Constantinople
3 Mer De Glace
13 Crown Prosecutor
Bet Now