Feehan Stakes Race Information

The Feehan Stakes is a 1600 metre weight-for-age race run by the Moonee Valley Racing Club held in September. It is run at Moonee Valley and is for horses aged three years old and upwards.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Weight-for-age, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Moonee Valley, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $500,000
  • Date: Saturday 9 September 2023

Feehan Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Feehan Stakes Preview and results

See the 2022 Feehan Stakes Preview and results

See the 2021 Feehan Stakes Preview and results

See the 2020 Feehan Stakes Preview and results

The Feehan Stakes has a long history. It was first held as a Principal Race over a mile (about 1600m) in 1948 called the Glenroy Stakes, and was won by a horse called Phoibus. In 1949 the name was changed to the J.F. Feehan Stakes after John Feehan who was the landowner of where Moonee Valley racecourse is now located.  With the introduction of the metric system the distance became the current 1600m. In 1979 it was upgraded to the current Group 2 status. From 2005 to 2018 it was known as the Dato’ Tan Chin Nam Stakes after a Malaysian entrepreneur and racehorse owner, but returned to the J.F. Feehan Stakes from 2019 onwards.

Many runners come to this race via the Group 2 P.B. Lawrence Stakes held over 1400m at Caulfield three weeks earlier.

Fun Facts

Last mare to win; Bonneval (2017)

Last 3YO to win: None

Multiple winners: Grenoble (1959-60); Lough Neagh (1936 & 1938); Gigandra (1912 & 1913)

Fastest time (1400m): Diamond Dane (2001) 1:18:28

Tramway Stakes & George Main Stakes: Sincero (2011); Shaftesbury Avenue (1990); Tullmax (1980); Imposing (1979); Landy (1957)

Leading jockeys (since 1930): Darby Munro  with 6 wins (Shannon 1945; Dewar 1943; Mohican 1938; The Marne 1936; Sir Duninald 1932; Rogilla 1932). Peter Cook rode 4 winners.

Leading trainers (since 1982): John P Thompson with 3 wins (Dreamforce 2019; Hooked 2015; Tagus 2012)

Interesting trivia: The Tramway Stakes was held twice in 1932, Rogilla (1932) dead -heated with Chatham, In 2000 Mr Innocent survived a protest from Eau D’Scaay. The race is run under the banner of the Sydney Tatt’s Club. Fastnet Rock sired 2019 winner Dreamforce and 2018 winner Comin’ Through.

Past winners of the Feehan Stakes

Winners of past Feehan Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Pinstriped Attrition Tuvalu
2022 Mr Brightside Inspirational Girl Spanish Mission
2021 Superstorm Elephant The Chosen One
2020 Humidor Surprise Baby Harbour Views
2019 Homesman Mahamedeis Best Of Days
2018 Magic Consol Homesman Night’s Watch
2017 Bonneval Abbey Marie Rhythm To Spare
2016 Awesome Rock Real Love Set Square
2015 The Cleaner Bagman Dibayani
2014 The Cleaner Mourinho Foreteller
2013 Fiorente Spacecraft Lidari
2012 Happy Trails Green Moon Rekindled Interest
2011 Rekindled Interest Alcopop Whobegotyou
2010 Whobegotyou Typhoon Tracy Shoot Out
2009 Whobegotyou Mic Mac Jolie’s Shinju
2008 Guillotine Casual Pass Tears I Cry
2007 El Segundo Haradasun Cinque Cento
2006 Lad Of The Manor Apache Cat Spinney
2005 Lad Of The Manor Makybe Diva Fields of Omagh
2004 Delzao Makybe Diva Studebaker
2003 Natural Blitz Vocabulary De Gaulle Lane
2002 Fields Of Omagh Magical Missr Le Zagaletta
2001 Northerly Sunline Sir Clive
2000 Sunline Le Zagaletta Citra’s Prince