Coongy Handicap Race Information

The Coongy Handicap is a 2000 metre open handicap race run by the Melbourne Racing Club in October. It is held at Caulfield as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 2000 metres
  • Conditions: Open handicap
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne,Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Wednesday 18 October 2023

Coongy Handicap Race History

See the 2023 Coongy Cup Preview and results

See the 2022 Coongy Cup Preview and results

See the 2021 Coongy Cup Preview and results

The race was first run in 1898 over 2200m and was won by a horse called Hymettus. It was held at that distance until 1930 and for several years in the 1930s and 1940s the race was not held at all then was over 2400m. It has been held over 2000m since 1968 and became a Group 3 race in 1978. Until 1996 it was held on the Wednesday before the Caulfield Cup , in 1997 and 1998 it was held at Sandown on the Sunday before the Caulfield Cup and in 1999 it was  moved to Caulfield Cup day. From 2007 to 2015 it was known as the David Jones Cup. In 2019 it was moved back to its original home on the Wednesday before the Cup and made the last ballot exempt race for the Caulfield Cup.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Duais (2021)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Top Role (1973); Filly – no filly has won

Multiple winners: Baughurst (2008 & 2009); Stare (1921 & 1923)

Fastest time (2000m): Three horses have run the same time of 2:00:65 – Activation (2005), Kessem (1990) and Major Till (1977)

Interesting trivia: There have been three dead-heats for first: Best Of Days & Mask Of Time (2018), Sunish & Te Totara (1954) and Lanarus & Morven (1940).

Past winners of the Coongy Handicap

Winners of past Coongy Handicaps include Maybe Better (2006), Activation (2005), Oliver Twist (1999), Circles Of Gold (1996),  Silk Ali (1993), Fraar (1992), Kessem (1990), Rose Of Kingston (1982), Our Paddy Boy (1981), Shiftmar (1975), Igloo (1971), Tails (1969), Fulmen (1966), Grand Print (1961), True Course (1951), Shadow King (1930), Apologue (1907), Hymettus (1898).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Muramasa Diamil Gregolimo
2022 Gunstock Yonkers Aurora’s Symphony
2021 Duais Wentwood Floating Artist
2020 Nonconformist Harlem Kiwia
2019 Wolfe Top Of The Range Kiwia
2018 Best of Days
Mask Of Time
(dead-heat 1st) Life Less Ordinary
2017 Kiwia Samovare Maurus
2016 Vanbrugh Tom Melbourne It’s Somewhat
2015 Stratum Star Awesome Rock Leebaz
2014 Contributer Noble Protector Signoff