Premier’s Cup Race Information

The Premier’s Cup is a 1900 metre open handicap race run by the Australian Turf Club in late August or early September. It is held at Rosehill as part of the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1900 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Rosehill Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $160,000
  • Date: Saturday 29 August 2020

Premier’s Cup Race History

See the 2020 Premier’s Cup Preview and Results

The race was first run as the Rosehill Cup in 1947 as a Principal Race over one and a half miles (about 2400m) and was won by a horse called Courier. The distance was reduced and when it became a Listed Race in 1979 it was being run over 2000 metres. In 1989 it was renamed the Premier’s Cup and the distance became 1900m. until 2002. From 2003 to 2015 it was reduced to 1800 metres then from 2016 onwards it has returned to 1900 metres. In 2018 it was upgraded to a Group 3 race.

Horses may come to this race via the Premier’s Cup Prelude over 1800m at Randwick run two weeks earlier. The winner of that race is exempt from any ballot for this race. Many horses have progressed to Group 1 wins from this race. Back in 1952 Hydrogen won this race and went on to win the next two Cox Plates. 2015 winner Magic Hurricane and 2012 winner Glencadam Gold both won the Metropolitan Handicap, and 2005 winner Railings won the Metropolitan and the Caulfield Cup. 2016 winner Sense Of Occasion won the Villiers Stakes, placed in both the Doncaster Handicap and the Queen Elizabeth Stakes and won the Doomben Cup. 2018 winner Avilius won the Kingston Town Classic and the Group 3 Bart Cummings.

Premier’s Cup Facts

Last mare to win: Break Card (2011)

Multiple winners: Tails (1969 & 1970)

Fastest time (1900m): Dee I Cee (2017) 1:55:02

Premiers Cup & Kingston Town Stakes: Avilius (2018)

Leading trainers: Gai Waterhouse with 5 wins (Dee I Cee 2017; Greatwood 2014; Glencadam Gold 2012; Gamesman 2002; Mulan Princess 2001)

Interesting trivia: In 2019 Chris Waller trained the first five across the line (Wu Gok, Come Play With Me, Carzoff, So You win and Savacool). Race not held in 2007 due to equine influenza.

Past winners of the Premier’s Cup

Winners of past Premier’s Cup include Avilius (2018), Sense Of Occasion (2016), Magic Hurricane (2015), Glencadam Gold (2012), Activation (2006), Railings (2005), Bush Honey (2004), Mulan Princess (2001), Joss Sticks (1998), Donegal Mist (1992), Kessem (1990), Colour Page (1985), Americano (1975), Red God (1972), Tails (1969/1970), Talisman (1955), Hydrogen (1952) and Dark Marne (1949).

Year Winner Second Third
2020 Mugatoo Sikandarabad Herengawe
2019 Wu Gok Come Play With Me Carzoff
2018 Avilius I Am Serious Testashadow
2017 Dee I Cee Classic Uniform Centre Pivot
2016 Sense Of Occasion Singing Magic Hurricane