Doomben Cup Race Information

The Doomben Cup is a 2000 metre race for three-year-olds and over run under weight-for-age conditions. It is held in May by the Brisbane Racing Club at Doomben during the Winter Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 1
  • Distance: 2000 metres
  • Conditions: WFA, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Doomben Racecourse, Brisbane, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $1,000,000
  • Date: Saturday 22 May 2021

Doomben Cup Race History

See the 2021 Doomben Cup Preview and Results.

The Doomben Cup was first held in 1933 over a distance of 10 furlongs (about 2000 metres) and was won by Pentheus. From 1973 to 1988 it has been held over 2200 metres, 2160 metres in 1989 then 2020 metres from 1990 apart from 2040 metres in 1996 and 2200 metres in 2002 and 2003. The juggling of distances between 2000 and 2200 metres makes it difficult to line up past form. It was not held in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The major lead-up race to the Doomben Cup is the Group 2 Hollindale Stakes over 1800 metres held at the Gold Coast two weeks earlier. History has shown this to be a great guide to the Doomben Cup with many horses taking out the Hollindale Stakes – Doomben Cup double. After the Cup many horses go on to race in the Group 2 PJ O’Shea Stakes over 2400 metres.

Favourites and second favourites have a good strike rate in this race and in recent years older geldings, and therefore horses carrying maximum weights, have dominated the race. Mares have a poor record and when Cinque Cento won in 2007 she was the first mare to win a Doomben Cup since Dream in 1950.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Kenedna (2019)

Last 3YO to win: C&G  – Akhenaton (2000); Filly – ?

Multiple winners: Scenic Shot (2009 & 2011)); Rough Habit (1991, 1992 & 1993); Earlwood (1959 & 1960)

Fastest time (2000m): Zaaki (2021) 2:01:06

Interesting trivia: Maurice McCarten won as a jockey in 1933, 1934 and 1940, then as a trainer in 1952.

Past winners of the Doomben Cup

The Doomben Cup is a test of endurance and strength and its greatest horse was Rough Habit who won in 1991, 1992 and 1993. Other famous winners include Might And Power, Durbridge, Danewin, Intergaze, Juggler, Lord Hybrow, Winfreux and Bernborough.

Year Winner Second Third
2021 Zaaki Toffee Tongue Brandenburg
2020 ** Race not run **
2019 Kenedna Life Less Ordinary Sixties Groove
2018 Comin’ Through Egg Tart Ambitious
2017 Sense Of Occasion Star Exhibit Rudy
2016 Our Ivanhowe Hauraki It’s Somewhat
2015 Pornichet Weary I’m Imposing
2014 Streama Leebaz Junoob
2013 Beaten Up Foreteller Secret Admirer
2012 Mawingo Lights Of Heaven Manighar
2011 Scenic Shot My Kingdom Of Fife Glass Harmonium
2010 Metal Bender (NZ) Gold Water Triple Honour (NZ)
2009 Scenic Shot Racing To Win Sir Slick (NZ)
2008 Sarrera Rampant Lion Like It Is
2007 Cenque Cento Gaze Pentathon
2006 Above Deck Octopussy Roman Arch
2005 Perlin (NZ) Platinum Scissors Natural Blitz
2004 Defier Pentastic Upsetthym (NZ)
2003 Bush Padre Freemason Maguire (NZ)
2002 Mr Bureaucrat Galroof (NZ) Freemason
2001 King Keitel (NZ) Shogun Lodge Khazakh Belle
2000 Akhenaton Integrate Cruzeiro (NZ)

From the archives:

Doomben Cup Preview & Tips 2018

Track: Good   Weather: Fine

Following the early scratching of It’s Somewhat there are 12 runners remaining for the $650,000 2018 Hardy Brothers Doomben Cup, and eight of them had their last start in the Hollindale. The early favourite is Oregon’s Day who won the Hollindale by 1.5 lengths last start. Second favourite is Ambitious who only beat 2 runners home in the Queen Elizabeth Stakes after losing 3 plates. Third favourite is Satono Rasen who ran on for 4th in the Hollindale and has 2 wins at this distance.

Comin’ Through ran on for 6th in the Hollindale while Tom Melbourne finished 2nd and Egg Tart was 5th. Life Less Ordinary followed a 2 length win over 1800m at Flemington with a 3.3 length win in the Wagga Cup over 2000m. Tradesman charged clear for a 3 length win over 1700m at the Warrnambool Carnival last start while Abbey Marie chased hard after being held up for 5th in the Coolmore. All other runners are currently 16 to 1 or longer.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
12 Oregon’s Day
10 Tradesman
8 Life Less Ordinary
4 Tom Melbourne