Villiers Stakes Race Information

The Villiers Stakes is a 1600 metre open handicap race run by the Australian Turf Club held in December. It is run at Randwick as part of the Sydney Summer Racing Carnival. The winner is exempt from the ballot in next year’s Doncaster Mile.

  • Race Type: Group 2, 3YO & upwards
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Open handicap
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $250,000
  • Date: Saturday 12 December 2020

Villiers Stakes Race History

Coming soon.

Villiers Stakes Facts

Last mare to win: Greysful Glamour (2020)

Last 3YO to win: C&G Hot Diggity (1977); Filly – Ordnance (1895)

Multiple winners: none

Fastest time (1600m): Ike’s Dream (2004) 1:33:13

Interesting trivia: The Villiers Stakes was not run in 2007 due to equine influenza, but was run twice in 2008.

Past winners of the Villiers Stakes

Winners of past Villiers Stakes often run well in the Doncaster as they are exempt from the ballot.

Year Winner Second Third
2020 Greysful Glamour Best Of Days Criaderas
2019 Quackerjack Invincible Gem Sambro
2018 Sky Boy Aloisia My Nordic Hero
2017 Crack Me Up Cabeza De Vaca Interlocuter
2016 Sense Of Occasion Dibayani Sarrasin