Mornington Cup Race Information

The Mornington Cup is a 2400 metre open handicap race run by the Mornington Race Club in March. It is the feature event of the meeting which also includes the Hareeba Stakes.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 2400 metres
  • Conditions: Open handicpa
  • Track: Mornington Racecourse, Mornington, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $350,000
  • Date: Saturday 20 March 2021

Mornington Cup Race History

See the 2021 Mornington Cup Preview and Results.

This race normally attracts a quality field of stayers with entries from Melbourne’s leading trainers and jockeys as the winner is exempt from the ballot for the Caulfield Cup.

It was first held in 1921 over eight and a half furlongs (1700 metres) and carried prizemoney of 80 pounds and a trophy valued at 75 pounds. By 1928 the prizemoney had increased to 280 pounds. In 1948 the prizemoney  was 1,000 pounds and in 1987 prizemoney was $45,000. The 1963 race was won by Silver Bounty who had won the 1981 Caulfield Cup. In 2000 the Mornington Cup prizemoney of $150,000 made it the richest in country Victoria and the Hareeba Stakes was added to the Cup Day with prizemoney of $75,000, making it the richest sprint race in country Victoria.

In 2004 Victorian galloper Gunnamatta scored his third straight in the race, which was also the fourth win in the event for winning rider Damien Oliver. The race was run over 2000m up to 2008 and over 2400m from 2009 onwards. The race will continue to attract top gallopers because the winner also wins ballot-free entry into the Caulfield Cup.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win; Voile DÓr (2001)

Multiple winners: Gunnamatta (2002, 2003 & 2004));

Fastest time (2400m): Berisha (2016) 2:25:42  (track record)

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Mornington Cup

Winners of past Mornington Cups include horses that go on to race at Group level.

Year Winner Second Third
2021 Mount Popa Nonconformist Irish Flame
2020 Aktau Inverloch Skelm
2019 Self Sense Tarquin Trap For Fools
2018 Kings Will Dream Harrison Fastnet Dragon
2017 Tally Vengeur Masque Settler’s Stone
2016 Berisha Big Memory Lucky Lucky Lucky
2015 Banca Mo Big Memory Don Doremo
2014 Instrumentalist Travolta Macedonian
2013 Tuscan Fire Durnford Macedonian
2012 Norsqui Drunken Sailor Sea Galleon
2011 Guyno Cedarberg Shewan