Mornington Racecourse Details

State: Victoria
Type: Country
Circumference: 1800 Metres
Direction: Anti – Clockwise
Straight: 210 Metres
Contact details: Mornington Racing Club, 320 Racecourse Road, Mornington, VIC 3931

Mornington Racecourse

The Mornington Racecourse is a 45-minute drive from Melbourne, at the gateway to the Mornington Peninsula. The Mornington Racing Club was formed in 1899 before entering a six-year hiatus in 1903. In 1909 they reformed and they established some permanency on the Peninsula. Their first meeting at their current site was in February 1911 before holding their first Mornington Cup meeting in 1921.

The club’s highlight is the annual Mornington Cup held in March each year.

Mornington has three listed races over the course of the year.

Major Mornington Races

Race name Type Distance
Mornington Cup Listed 2400m
Hareeba Stakes Listed 1200m
R.M Ansett Classic Listed 2400m

Getting to Mornington Races

If you are driving from Melbourne, Travel on M1/Eastlink or the Nepean Highway into Mornington. It should take around an hour to drive from Melbourne’s CBD. Public parking is free on race days, with car park entry off Mornington-Tyabb Rd. You can get there by train from Melbourne as trains depart regularly from Flinders St Station to Frankston Station.

From Melbourne’s Bellarine Peninsula and Mornington Peninsula you can also take your car on the Queenscliff Sorrento Ferry Service¬† which runs daily from 7am to 6pm every hour on the hour. This scenic trip takes around 40 minutes.

Taxi and uber are also good options for getting there.

Mornington Track Records

Distance Winner Time Date
1000 Motown Lil 56.84 09/09/2016
1200 Bassett (NZ) 1.09.22 25/03/2017
1500 Tarquin 1.28.54 02/04/2016
1600 Inspector 1.35.59 01/11/2015
2000 Kounthekash (NZ) 2.03.07 23/02/2005
2400 Berisha 2.25.42 02/04/2016
3000 Geejayhaitch 3.14.49 03/08/2011
3400 Sly Romance 3.36.58 02/04/2016