Ladies Day Vase Race Information

The Ladies Day Vase is a 1600 metre set weights and penalties race for mares four-years-old and upwards run by the Melbourne Racing Club in October. It is held at Caulfield as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights and penalties, mares 4YO &up
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne,Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 14 October 2023

Ladies Day Vase Race History

See the 2023 Ladies Day Vase Preview and results.

See the 2022 Ladies Day Vase Preview and results.

The race was previously run on the Wednesday between the Caulfield Guineas and the Caulfield Cup on Ladies Day. The meeting also included the Group 1 Thousand Guineas, Group 3 Blue Sapphire Stakes and the Group 3 Coongy Handicap. In 2023 it was moved to the Caulfield Guineas Saturday.

It was first run in 1994 and was won by a horse called Cyclone Watch. It was raced under several different names and in 2006 it became a Listed race. In 2013 it was upgraded to its current Group 3 status.

Useful Facts

Multiple winners: Sirileo Miss (2021 & 2022); Cyclone Watch (1994 & 1995)

Fastest time (1600m): Star Fashion (2014)

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Ladies Day Vase

Winners of past Ladies Day Vases include Spanish Reef (2019), I Am A Star (2018), Miss Rose De Lago (2015), Star Of Giselle (2012), Lady Lynette (2009), Matras (2005) and Market Price (2000).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Wishlor Lass Barbie’s Fox Foxy Frida
2022 Sirileo Miss Belle Plaisir Glory Bound
2021 Sirileo Miss Foxy Frida Harmony Rose
2020 Sovereign Award Fabric Chaillot
2019 Spanish Reef Rondinella Fidelia
2018 I Am A Star Kenedna Oregon’s Day
2017 Quilate Flying Jess Prompt Response
2016 Euro Angel Rocket Commander Antelucan
2015 Miss Rose De Lago Into The Mist Amarela
2014 Star Fashion Lady Cumquat Suavito
2013 Zonza Bonaria Two Sugars
2012 Star Of Giselle Oasis Bloom Mabsam
2011 Hi Belle Neriani Keep The Peace