Blue Sapphire Stakes Race Information

The Blue Sapphire Stakes is a 1400 metre set weights race for three-year-olds run by the Melbourne Racing Club in October. It is held at Caulfield as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 3YOs
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $500,000
  • Date: Saturday 18 November 2023

Blue Sapphire Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Blue Sapphire Stakes Preview and results

See the 2022 Blue Sapphire Stakes Preview and results

See the 2021 Blue Sapphire Stakes Preview and results

The Blue Sapphire Stakes used to take place on the Wednesday in the middle of the three day Caulfield Cup Carnival. Caulfield Guineas Day is the first day of the carnival and features four Group 1 events, and the third day, held on the Saturday after Blue Sapphire Stakes Day, is Caulfield Cup Day. The Blue Sapphire Stakes was held on the same day as the Group 3 Ladies Day Vase over 1600m, the Group 3 Coongy Handicap over 2000m and the Listed Caulfield Village Stakes over 1200m. In 2023 the distance was increased from 1200m to 1400m, it had a big increase in prizemoney and was moved to a Saturday in mid-November.

The race was first held in 2012 on Caulfield Guineas day. It was established because there was a recognition that Victoria needed more feature events for three-year-olds like the Golden Rose in Sydney. In 2014 it became a Listed race and was moved to the Wednesday meeting, then was upgraded to a Group 3 in 2016 which is rapid advancement in status and prizemoney for such a young race. It has now taken over from the Ladies Day Vase as being the feature event of the meeting.

From 2005 to 2011 there was a two-year-old race at Caulfield over 1200m in May called the Blue Sapphire Classic that Black Caviar won by 6 lengths at her second start. That was a different race to this 3YO race.

The 2020 running only had three runners despite the $400,000 prizemoney on offer. It was a stride for stride battle down the straight between the odds-on favourite Anders and the second-fancied horse Hanseatic. In the last 50m the outsider Ranting ran them both down so the finishing order was the exact opposite of what the market expected.  Strange things happen in small fields.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Anaheed (2019)

Fastest time (1200m): Eloping (2014) 1:09.54

Blue Sapphire Stakes & Coolmore Stud Stakes: Flying Artie (2016).

Leading jockeys: Two jockeys have 2 wins each. Damian Lane (Anaheed 2019; Keen Array 2015) and Damien Oliver (Flying Artie 2016; Lion of Belfort 2013).

Leading trainers: Mick Price has 3 wins (Extreme Warrior  2021 (with Michael Kent Jnr); Flying Artie 2016; Lion of Belfort 2013) and Hayes & Dabernig have 2 wins (Formality 2017; Keen Array 2015).

Interesting trivia: Fastnet Rock sired the 2019 winner Anaheed and the 2017 winner Formality.

Past winners of the Blue Sapphire Stakes

Winners of past Blue Sapphire Stakes include horses that progress on to major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Run Harry Run Brave Mead Arkansaw Kid
2022 Grand Impact Shalailed Lofty Strike
2021 Extreme Warrior Profiteer Minsk Moment
2020 Ranting Hanseatic Anders
2019 Anaheed Li’l Kontra Brooklyn Hustle
2018 Written By Encryption Tony Nicconi
2017 Formality Jukebox Lone Eagle
2016 Flying Artie Dalradian Derryn
2015 Keen Array Mogador Haptic
2014 Eloping Sultry Feeling Husson Eagle
2013 Lion of Belfort Safeguard Diamond Oasis
2012 Snitzerland Fire Thunderbolt Lankan Rupee