George Main Stakes Race Information

The George Main Stakes is a 1600 metre weight-for-age race run by the Australian Turf Club. The race is held in late September at Randwick during the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 1
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Weight-for-age, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $5,000,000
  • Date: Saturday 14 October 2023

George Main Stakes Race History

See the 2023 King Charles III Stakes Preview and results

See the 2022 George Main Stakes Preview and results

See the 2021 George Main Stakes Preview and results

See the 2020 George Main Stakes Preview and results

The George Main Stakes was first run in 1945 over a distance of 8 furlongs (about 1600 metres) and was won by Modulation. The race has remained at the same distance and was converted to 1600 metres in 1972. It became a Group 1 race in 1980 and was run at Warwick Farm in 1983 and 2001. In 2007 it was not held because of equine influenza (EI) which disrupted the Spring Carnival.

George Main was a former chairman of the Australian Jockey Club. He also bred racehorses and ran sheep with his wife Mary on their grazing property “Retreat” west of Cootamundra on the southwest slopes of New South Wales. The race named in his honour attracts top class milers and solid 2000 metre horses.

Several races are used as lead-ups including the NJC Spring Stakes (1600 metres) and Cameron Handicap (1400 metres) both ran at Newcastle, the Theo Marks Stakes (1300 metres), Shannon Quality Handicap (1500 metres) and Gloaming Stakes (1800 metres for 3YOs) at Rosehill, and the Chelmsford Stakes (1600 metres) at Randwick. The winner of the George Main is exempt from a ballot on the Epsom Handicap, and horses who run well head for the Epsom.

In 2020 Chris Waller had four runners and they were the first four home.

In 2023 it was renamed in honour of the new king. The first running of the King Charles III Stakes carries prizemoney of $5 million.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Verry Elleegant (2021)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Viscount (2001); Filly – no filly was won

Multiple winners: Winx (2016, 2017 & 2018); Kingston Town (1981 & 1982); Regal Rhythm (1967 & 1968); Count Radiant (1964 & 1965); Shannon (1946 & 1947).

Fastest time (1600m): Kolding (2020) 1:33:3

Interesting trivia: Grey Boots was the runner-up in three consecutive years (1950, 1951 & 1952).

Previous winners of the George Main Stakes

Several horses have won the George Main Stakes – Epsom double with the most recent being Racing To Win (2006). Winx won the Epsom in 2015 and the George Main in 2016, 2017 and 2018. Kingston Town won the George Main Stakes – Cox Plate double twice in 1981 and 1982. Other notable winners include Shogun Lodge (1999), Juggler (1996), Durbridge (1994), Shaftesbury Avenue (1990), Campaign King (1987), Emancipation (1983), All Shot (1973), Baguette (1971), Wenona Girl (1963) and Shannon (1946 and 1947).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Fangirl Mr Brightside My Oberon
2022 Anamoe Icebath Hinged
2021 Verry Elleegant Riodini Think It Over
2020 Kolding Star of the Seas Imaging
2019 Avilius Dreamforce Happy Clapper
2018 Winx Le Romain Egg Tart
2017 Winx Happy Clapper Foxplay
2016 Winx Hauraki It’s Somewhat (USA)
2015 Kermadec (NZ) Royal Descent Pornichet (FR)
2014 Sacred Falls Royal Descent Laser Hawk
2013 Streama Royal Descent Veyron
2012 Shoot Out Rangirangdoo Secret Admirer
2011 Sincero Ilovethiscity Triple Elegance
2010 More Joyous Trusting Empires Choice
2009 Road To Rock Black Piranha Onemorenomore
2008 Mentality Theseo Road To Rock
2006 Racing To Win Red Dazzler Desert War
2005 Mr Celebrity (NZ) Shania Dane Outback Prince
2004 Grand Armee King’s Chapel Shamekha
2003 Lonhro Grand Armee Defier
2002 Defier Excellerator Sunline (NZ)
2001 Viscount Shogun Lodge Courvoisier
2000 Adam Mr Innocent Al Mansour

From the archives:

2018 George Main Stakes Final Field & Odds:

You can check out all the latest George Main Stakes odds plus final field below.

George Main Stakes Preview & Tips:

Track: Good   Weather: Fine

There are only 8 runners for the $500,000 George Main Stakes. For the third year in a row the odds-on favourite is the super mare Winx, one of five runners for Chris Waller, who has won her last 26 starts. Second favourite is Unforgotten who was an impressive winner of the Group 2 Chelmsford Stakes last start. Third favourite is Le Romain who resumed for a win in the Group 3 Show County Quality then battled on for 7th in the Group 2 Tramway Stakes.

Egg Tart resumed for 5th in the Tramway and looked to have more to offer. Ace High was 2nd in the Chelmsford, while It’s Somewhat ran 7th, but was 3rd in this race in 2016. Religify was 6th in the Chelmsford. Who Shot Thebarman is the only horse resuming here and hasn’t started since his Sydney Cup win in April. The favourite should notch up her 27th consecutive win and there may be some value in the quinella and trifectas.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
6 Winx
8 Unforgotten
5 Ace High
1 Le Romain