Wyong Gold Cup Race Information

The Wyong Gold Cup is a 2100 metre quality handicap race run by the Wyong Race Club in early September. It is held at Wyong at the start of the Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 2100 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Wyong Racecourse, Wyong, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $240,000
  • Date: Friday 1 September 2023

Wyong Gold Cup Race History

See the 2023 Wyong Gold Cup Preview and results

See the 2022 Wyong Gold Cup Preview and results

See the 2021 Wyong Gold Cup Preview and results

See the 2020 Wyong Gold Cup Preview and results

The Wyong Gold Cup is the highlight of the racing year for the Wyong Race Club. It has been held for many years and has changed in distance. The Newcastle Morning Herald and Miners’Advocate for 1936 reported the field for the Wyong Cup held over 7 furlongs (about 1400m) when it was held in November and there were two divisions held.

The Cup is right at the start of the Spring carnival and attracts many Sydney trainers as it is not too far from Sydney and has good prizemoney. Chris Waller has a very strong presence here and had his first winner with Hawk Island in 2010. In 2022 he had five runners and trained the first four across the line, giving him his eighth winner of the race.

In 2023 the race was thrown into chaos as The Mediterranean ridden by Regan Bayliss went amiss near the 700m mark resulting interference to much of the field. Tim Clark came off Kalapour and Brett Prebble came off Pretty Amazing. The Mediterranean was later euthanized but all other horses avoided any serious injury after Alegron, Hosier and Hopeful were eased out of the race. Two beautiful grey horses ran the quinella with 2 riderless horses coming home OK.

Horses may come to this race via the Premier’s Cup Prelude, the Group 3 Premier’s Cup or the Listed Rowley Mile.

Held on the same program is the Listed Mona Lisa Stakes for fillies and mares over 1350m. This also attracts many Sydney horses and trainers.

Wyong Gold Cup Facts

Last mare to win: Bianca (2008)

Fastest time (2100m): Pecan Player (2000) 2:08:1

Wyong Cup & Newcastle Cup: Carzoff (2018); Bianca (2008); Carael Boy (2005); Maltese Beauty (1999).

Leading jockeys: Hugh Bowman with 4 wins (Berdibek 2021; Destiny’s Kiss 2017; Beyond Thankful 2015; Pecan Player 2000).

Leading trainers: Chris Waller with 7 wins (Wu Gok 2019; Carzoff 2018; Beyond Thankful 2015; Multilateral 2014; Wazn 2013; The Verminator 2011; Hawk Island 2010)

Interesting trivia: Race not held in 2006 and 2007.

Past winners of the Wyong Gold Cup

Winners of past Wyong Gold Cups include The Verminator (2011), Carael Boy (2005), Daniel’s The Man (2003), Danyon (2001) and Lord Hybrow (1989).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Benaud Bois D’argent Spirit Ridge
2022 Durston Yiyi Our Intrigue
2021 Berdibek Criminal Code Mubariz
2020 Paths Of Glory The Lord Mayor Hush Writer
2019 Wu Gok Hush Writer Vaucluse Bay
2018 Carzoff Dark Eyes Shalmaneser
2017 Destiny’s Kiss The Getaway Sayed
2016 Slow Pace Sacred Master Get On The Grange
2015 Beyond Thankful Just As Cosmic Orbec
2014 Multilateral Canny Ballad Secessio
2013 Wazn Peal Of Bells Gazza Guru
2012 Julienas Gazza Guru Storm Burst
2011 The Verminator Essence Of Success Gazza Guru
2010 Hawk Island Snow Alert Music Review
2009 Mr Clangtastic Lodge The Deeds Enzedex Eagle
2008 Bianca Keepin’ The Dream Enzedex Eagle
2007  ** Race not run **
2006   ** Race not run **
2005 Carael Boy Irongail Dancing Daggers
2004 Bush Honey Jackman Itemise
2003 Daniel’s The Man Rocksinga Legerdemain
2002 Bondi Iceberg Danyon Feed The Meter
2001 Danyon Agincourt Express Space Age
2000 Pecan Player Space Age Gerastar