Rowley Mile Race Information

The Rowley Mile is a 1600 metre handicap race run by the Hawkesbury Race Club in August. It is held at Hawkesbury and is a historic race that was first run in 1881. It attracts many Sydney horses.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Hawkesbury Racecourse, Hawkesbury, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Thursday 17 August 2023

Rowley Mile Race History

See the 2023 Rowley Mile preview and results.

See the 2022 Rowley Mile Preview and results.

See the 2021 Rowley Mile tips, preview and runner by runner.

See the 2020 Rowley Mile Preview and results.

This race was first run in 1881, making it one of the oldest races in Australia, and it is one of the oldest and most competitive mile handicaps in New South Wales. There have been a few years it was not held with minor gaps due to administrative issues between 1897 and 1903, the Second World War and its effects between 1942 and 1950, and some programming difficulties in the late sixties and again between 1997 and 2000.

It was originally run in the early Autumn following a break in racing for the hot months of summer but has been reprogrammed throughout its history and is now Hawkesbury’s Listed Winter Feature race. Because of the timing of late winter it attracts both good winter horses and middle-distance and staying type hopefuls beginning their spring campaign.

The prizemoney is enough to attract top Sydney trainers including Chris Waller, Gai Waterhouse and Bjorn Baker. Winners from the last few years like McCreery, Arbeitsam and Mister Sea Wolf have all gone on to win at Group level.

Rowley Mile Facts

Last mare to win; Savacool (2020)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Fiery Venture (2003); Filly –

Multiple winners:

Fastest time (1600m): Mister Sea Wolf (2018) 1:34:84

Rowley Mile & Shannon Stakes: Mister Sea Wolf (2018)

Leading trainers: Gai Waterhouse has won this race five times (Arbeitsam 2017; The Offer 2015; Rabbuka 2008; Beauty Watch 2007; Fiery Venture 2003)

Interesting trivia: Chris Waller trained the trifecta in 2016.

Past winners of the Rowley Mile

Winners of past Rowley Miles include horses that go on to win Group races.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Bold Mac Protagonist Ruby Flyer
2022 Skyman Oscar Zulu Cross Talk
2021 Berdibek Kukeracha Surf Dancer
2020 Savacool Girl Tuesday Spencer
2019 Gaulois Supernova Love Shack Baby
2018 Mister Sea Wolf Flow Alward
2017 Arbeitsam Kingsguard Reiby The Red
2016 McCreery Marenostro Junoob
2015 The Offer Dragon Flyer Campania
2014 Mr Chard Warhorse La Amistad
2013 Mouro Beaten Up Speediness
2012 Star Of Octagonal Western Symbol Saint Encosta
2011 Keepin’ The Dream Altered Boy Pureness
2010 Snow Alert Keffiya Parfumier
2009 Lyncean Academy Bellagio Wynn Arlington
2008 Rabbuka Party Crasher Mr Ubiquitous
2007 Beauty Watch Soiled El Meroo
2006 Fighting Fund Spirit Of Tara Coalesce
2005 The Man Race The Ace Run Rita Run
2004 Full On Magic Goldwina Viscay Star
2003 Fiery Venture Fire At Will Zabarra