Winter Challenge Race Information

The Winter Challenge is a 1500 metre quality handicap race run by the Australian Turf Club in late July. It is held at Rosehill as part of Sydney’s Winter Racing at the end of the racing season.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1500 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Rosehill Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $160,000
  • Date: Saturday 22 July 2023
Back A winner - Winter Challenge

Winter Challenge Race History

See the 2023 Winter Challenge Preview and results.

See the 2022 Winter Challenge Preview and results.

See the 2021 Winter Challenge Preview and results.

See the 2020 Winter Challenge Preview and results.

The Winter Challenge was first held in 2011 as a 1500m race at Rosehill, and it was won by Foreteller. In 2012 it was held over a mile at Warwick Farm, but following that it has stayed as 1500m at Rosehill. Interestingly, the only time a mare  won was when it was held at Warwick Farm, and it tends to be won by older geldings. It is the last black type race of the season in Sydney and the main lead-up races are the Listed Winter Stakes over 1400m at Rosehill held two weeks earlier, and the Listed Civic Stakes over 1350m at Rosehill held four weeks earlier.

Chris Waller has been very successful at training winners of this race and has achieved 7 winners from the first 10 times the race has been run. Jason Collett has been the winning jockey 3 times while both Tommy Berry and James McDonald have ridden two winners.

Most likely types to win

With only a short race history to go on, it appears most winners are older geldings that have had a winter campaign, rather than a fresh horse getting ready for the spring.

Winter Challenge Facts

Last mare to win: Barbie’s Fox (2023)

Last 3YO to win: So far no three-year-old has won the Winter Challenge.

Multiple winners: None so far

Fastest time (1500m): He’s Your Man (2014) 1:29.07

Leading jockeys: Jason Collett with 3 wins (Mister Sea Wolf 2018, Shiraz 2017 and Coup Ay Tee 2013).

Leading trainers: Chris Waller with 7 wins (Order Again 2021, Seaway 2019, Mister Sea Wolf 2018, Marenostro 2016, He’s Your Man 2014, Coup Ay Tee 2013 and Foreteller 2011)

Interesting trivia: Chris Waller has won 7 of the 11 runnings.

Past winners of the Winter Challenge

Winners of past Winter Challenges tend to be sprinter-milers. Although it is held at the end of July most horses are finishing their campaign rather than starting it.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Barbie’s Fox Hosier Steely
2022 Cross Talk Toomuchtobear Gold Trip
2021 Order Again Ziegfeld Sambro
2020 Mugatoo Sambro Taikomochi
2019 Seaway Goodfella Eckstein
2018 Mister Sea Wolf Flow Special Missile
2017 Shiraz Classic Uniform Slightly Sweet
2016 Marenostro Oxford Poet Ruling Dynasty
2015 He’s Your Man I’m Imposing  Coup Ay Tee
2014 Coup Ay Tee Bayrir Kinnersley
2013  ** Race not run **
2012 Spinnawitch Forty Thirty Winning Glory
2011 Foreteller Scarf Bellagio Wynn