Civic Stakes Race Information

The Civic Stakes is a 1400 metre quality handicap race run by the Australian Turf Club in June. It is held at Randwick as the feature event of the meeting.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $160,000
  • Date: Saturday 24 June 2023

Civic Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Civic Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Civic Stakes Preview and results.

The race was first run in 1950 as a feature winter sprint race and was won by a horse called De La Salle.
The race was known as the Civic Handicap until 2004 and has been named the Civic Stakes from 2005.
The distance has varied many times over the years from six furlongs/1200m up to seven and half furlongs/1500m.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Little Surfer Girl (2011)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Malavio (2012); Filly – ?

Multiple winners: Magic Gleam (1988 & 1989).

Interesting trivia:In 2021 a decision was made to switch the meeting from Randwick to Rosehill as Covid lockdowns meant there was a stay at home order for the Randwick area.

Past winners of the Civic Stakes

Winners of past Civic Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Ucalledit King Of Hastings Cisco Bay
2022 Taksu Oscar Zulu Looks Like Elvis
2021 Bandersnatch Tricky Gal True Detective
2020 Trumbull Order Again Dealmaker
2019 Gaulois Firsthand New Tipperary
2018 Liapari Dreamforce Flow
2017 Gold Symphony The Monstar Slightly Sweet
2016 Ninth Legion Better Not Blue Vergara
2015 Haussmann Two Blue See The World
2014 Generalife Bennetta He’s Your Man
2013 Mic Mac Under The Sun Said Com
2012 Malavio Famous Seamus Ideal Position
2011 Little Surfer Girl Madibagold Onthelookout
2010 Illuminates Falaise Madibagold
2009 Hadaaf Cruisy Lady Synonym
2008 Al Be Nimble Certain Magic Fritz’s Princess
2007 Flaming Bobadah Beauty Watch
2006 Gorgonite Cool Front King Rex
2005 Turaga Terrace Magic Marvo
2004 Damigos Gabfest Bradshaw
2003 Palladium Star Century Kid Sportsbrat
2002 Carael Boy Palladium Star Magic Heights
2001 Impregnable Ruscidi Zodiac Star
2000 Old Man Triple Header Iglesia