Tancred Stakes Race Information

The Tancred Stakes is a 2400 metre weight-for-age race run by the Australian Turf Club held in late March. It is run at Rosehill and is the only Group 1 weight-for-age race over 2400 metres in Australia.

  • Race Type: Group 1
  • Distance: 2400 metres
  • Conditions: Weight-for-age, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Rosehill Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $1,500,000
  • Date: Saturday 30 March 2024

Tancred Stakes Race History

See the 2024 Tancred Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 Tancred Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Tancred Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2021 Tancred Stakes Preview and results.

The Tancred Stakes was first held as a quality handicap over 12 furlongs in 1963 and was won by a mare called Maidenhead. In 1964 the race was held over 10 furlongs but reverted back to 12 furlongs in 1965. In 1973 the distance was converted to 2400 metres, in 1977 it became a weight-for-age race, and it 1980 it reached Group 1 status.

Over the years the Tancred Stakes has also been called the BMW Stakes, H.E. Tancred Stakes, the Tancred Cup and the Mercedes Classic. It is Australia’s richest weight-for-age staying event and attracts top class horses from throughout Australia and New Zealand, as well as the top trainers and jockeys, and is one of the highlights of the Autumn Racing Carnival.

Runners use the Group 1 Ranvet Stakes over 2000 metres as the major lead-up in Sydney while Melbourne horses can arrive via the Group 1 Australian Cup over 2000 metres. The Ranvet – BMW double has been won by horses like Tuesday Joy (2008), Eremein (2006) and Tie The Knot (2000), while the Australian Cup – BMW double has been won by horses like Makybe Diva (2005) and Octagonal (1997).

Normally it is raced on Tancred Stakes day as part of a super Saturday with 8 Group races. In 2022 the meeting was abandoned after race 3 and the remaining Group races, including this, were held at Newcastle the following Monday.

The 61st running in 2023 was won by Arapaho and his jockey Rachel King became the first female jockey to win a Tancred Stakes.

Winner of the 2023 Ranvet Stakes is exempt from ballot for this race. Winner of this race is exempt from ballot for the 2023 Queen Elizabeth Stakes and the 2023 Sydney Cup.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Verry Elleegant (2020)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Fiveandahalfstar (2013); Filly – none

Multiple winners: Tie The Knot (1999 & 2000); Octagonal (1996 & 1997)

Fastest time (2400m): Grand Zulu (2004) 2:25:78

Interesting trivia: In 2000 the same three horses ran the trifecta in the Ranvet Stakes and the Tancred – Tie The Knot, Arena and Showella.

Past winners of the Tancred Stakes

Winners of past Tancred Stakes include horses that have won races like the Melbourne CupSydney CupDoomben CupQueen Elizabeth Stakes and Cox Plate. It has been dominated by colts and geldings and no three-year-old filly has ever won, but the few mares who have won have all been great including Verry Elleegant (2020), Tuesday Joy (2008), Makybe Diva (2005) and Ethereal (2002). Good horses that won this race as three-year-olds include Grand Zulu, Octagonal, Beau Zam, Myocard, Bonecrusher and Kingston Town.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Kalapour More Felons Ashrun
2023 Arapaho Montefilia King Frankel
2022 Duais Stockman The Chosen One
2021 Sir Dragonet She’s Ideel Miami Bound
2020 Verry Elleegant Mustajeer Avilius
2019 Avilius Big Duke Rondinella
2018 Almandin (GER) Ambitious (JPN) Who Shot Thebarman (NZ)
2017 Jameka Humidor (NZ) Exospheric (GB)
2016 Preferment Who Shot Thebarman Grand Marshal
2015 Hartnell To The World (JPN) Beaten Up
2014 Silent Achiever It’s A Dundeel Fiorente
2013 Fiveandahalfstar Silent Achiever Sangster
2012 Manighar Americain Drunken Sailor
2011 Cedarberg Mourayan Linton
2010 Littorio Zavite (NZ) No Wine No Song
2009 Fiumicino (NZ) Theseo Viewed
2008 Tuesday Joy (NZ) Princess Coup Sirmione
2007 Blutigeroo Railings Gorky Park (NZ)
2006 Eremein Railings Our Smoking Joe
2005 Makybe Diva (GB) Grand Armee Vouvray (NZ)
2004 Grand Zulu Mummify Makybe Diva (GB)
2003 Freemason Northerly Republic Lass
2002 Ethereal (NZ) Universal Prince Rain Gauge
2001 Curata Storm Kaapstaad Way Giovana (NZ)
2000 Tie The Knot Arena Showella (NZ)
1999 Tie The Knot Intergaze Arena
1998 Might And Power Gold Guru Doriemus
1997 Octagonal Arkady Istidaad
1996 Octagonal Count Chivas Saintly
1995 Stony Bay Jeune Turridu
1994 Miltak Dark Ksar It’s All In Fun
1993 Kaaptive Edition Rough Habit Veandercross
1992 Heroicity Aquidity Rough Habit
1991 Dr Grace Shuzohra Castletown
1990 Sydeston Lord Hybrow Horlicks
1989 Our Poetic Prince Top Class Apollo Run
1988 Beau Zam Highland Chieftain Vaguely Pleasant
1987 Myocard Our Waverley Star Foxseal
1986 Bonecrusher Rant And Rave Abit Leica
1985 Alibhai Hayai Prolific
1984 Hayai Trissaro Beechcraft
1983 Trissaro Veloso Mr. Mcginty
1982 Prince Majestic Allez Bijou Rose Of Kingston
1981 My Blue Denim Red Nose Love Bandit
1980 Kingston Town Double Century Gold And Black
1979 Shivaree Dulcify Happy Union
1978 Hyperno Lazy Pat Our Cavalier
1977 Our Cavalier Think Big How Now
1976 Major Battle Participator Hot Land
1975 Sovereign Yacht Kia Maia Participator
1974 Knee High Cervantes Calabash
1973 Apollo Eleven Velitari Gay Marquis
1972 Tails Big Butch Spanish Town
1971 Natural Trump Gallic Temple Koda Pen
1970 Bright Shadow Great Exploits Gay Trier
1969 Prince Grant Court Prince Blue Plume
1968 Khalekan Indian Harvest Nandaroo
1967 Indian Harvest Clovelly Ancestor
1966 Striking Force Hyde Tasman Lad
1965 Galerus River Seine Olympus
1964 King Roto Emboss Slasher
1963 Maidenhead Kwatcha Ruato

From the archives:

Tancred Stakes Preview & Tips 2018

Track: Good   Weather: Fine

Following the early scratching of Libran, there are only nine stayers in the $1,500,000 Kia Tancred Stakes. The early favourite is Gailo Chop who won the Ranvet Stakes by 3 lengths following a good 2nd in the Australian Cup. Second favourite is 2016 Melbourne Cup winner Almandin who was 4th in the Australian Cup last start. Third in the market is Single Gaze who has come 2nd at three of her four runs this campaign with the latest 2nd in the Ranvet Stakes.

Auvray has a good record at this distance and won the G2  Sky High Stakes over 2000m last outing. Ambitious is a Japanese horse who kept grinding away for 9th in the Australian Cup at his Australian debut. Harlem won the Australian Cup at big odds before 6th in the Ranvet. Ventura Storm was 3rd in the Australian Cup then only 7th in the Ranvet. Who Shot Thebarman has ran in this race for the last 3 years, each time using the G3 Sky High as his lead-up and has finished 4th in 2015, 2nd in 2016 and 4th in 2017. Lasqueti Spirit finished 5th in this race last year and has also used the Sky High as her lead-up this year and last year.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
1 Gailo Chop
2 Almandin
9 Single Gaze
5 Who Shot Thebarman