Strickland Stakes Race Information

The Strickland Stakes is a 2000 metre weight-for-age race run by the West Australian Turf Club in June. It is held at Belmont as the feature event of the meeting.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 2000 metres
  • Conditions: Weight-for-age, 2YO & upwards
  • Track: Belmont Racecourse, Perth, Western Australia
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 15 June 2024

Strickland Stakes Race History

See the 2024 Strickland Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 Strickland Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Strickland Stakes Preview and results.

The race was first run as the WATC December Stakes over 1.25 miles (about 2000m) at Ascot Racecourse in 1901 and was won by a horse called Limber. In 1902 the race was moved to November and was held in that month until 1998 although there were several changes in distances with it being over 1.5 miles (about (2400m) in 1906, 1 and 3/8 miles (about 2200m) from 1907 to 1909, 1 and 1/8 miles (about 1800m) from 1910 to 1972 and 1800 metres from 1973 to 2004. It became a Group 3 race in 1979. The race wasn’t held in 1999 as the scheduling switched from November 1998 to January 2000. It was also not held from 1942 to 1944 during the Second World War. In 2005 it was held over 2000 metres at Belmont before returning to the 1800m distance at Ascot from 2006 to 2010. From 2011 onwards it was switched to the current 2000m distance at Belmont Park during June.

Many horses come to this race via the Group 3 Hyperion Stakes  over 1600m held two weeks earlier, and many also run in the Group 3 Belmont Sprint over 1400m held two weeks before that.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Naughty By Nature (2021)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Wabasso (1993); Filly – Timeless Action (1989)

Multiple winners: Material Man (2018 & 2020); Marasco (2009 & 2010); Finito (2001 & 2002*); Jolly Aster (1966 & 1968); Lady Lucia (1947 & 1949); Jolly Fair (1932 & 1934); Maple (1926 & 1927); Mistico (1916 & 1919); Fifeness (1903 & 1904).

Fastest time (2000m): Kincaple (2013) 2:05:4

Interesting trivia: In 2002 Finito and Gwalia Girl dead-heated.

Past winners of the Strickland Stakes

Winners of past Strickland Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Let’s Galahvant Western Empire Ginger Baker
2023 Last Of The Line Startrade Dom To Shoot
2022 Prince Turbo Marocchino God Has Chosen
2021 Naughty By Nature Uni Time Dance Music
2020 Material Man Perfect Jewel The Velvet King
2019 Galaxy Star Gatting Cappo D’Oro
2018 Material Man Pounamu Gatting
2017 Scales Of Justice Zarantz Pounamu
2016 Ihtsahymn Dubai Escapade Zarantz
2015 Fuchsia Bandana Balmont Girl Tower Of Lonhro
2014 Fancy Feet Ranger Bridgestone
2013 Kincaple Moonlight Bay God Has Spoken
2012 Mr Moet Chester Road Rosie Rocket
2011 God Has Spoken Battle Emblem King Kool Kat
2010 Marasco Tarzi Doyoudare
2009 Marasco Tarzi Star Encounter
2008 Action Pak Forest Frolic Danecay
2007 Forest Frolic Stormblitz Keyton Grace
2006 Exchequer Professional Lady Belle Bizarre
2005 True Steel Lados My Thornbird
2004 Dedicated Miss Main Stage Wool Zone
2003 Money Is Magic Finito Blinded
2002 Gwalia Girl
 * dead-heat 1st Cardinal Colours
2001 Finito Dance Hit Noble Cavalier
2000 Iron Horse Corporate Bruce Calophylla
1999  **Race not run **
1998 Summer Beau Proconteur Westown
1997 News Review Brooklyn Bridge Chelsea
1996 Western Cossack Powerful Prince Summer Beau
1995 Forge On Daney Boy Beau Heed
1994 Prime Again Twist And Shout Double Dignity
1993 Wabasso Prime Again Advise Me
1992 Lincoln’s Court Classy Dresser Red Javelin
1991 Higginsville Laudanum Mirror Magic
1990 Acquired Marbleous Quality Choice
1989 Timeless Action Green Range Boy Pagonic
1988 Perfect Answer My Bobby Boo Green Range Boy