Hyperion Stakes Race Information

The Hyperion Stakes is a 1600 metre weight-for-age race run by the West Australian Turf Club in June. It is held at Belmont and is the feature event of the meeting.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Weight-for-age, 2YO & upwards
  • Track: Belmont Racecourse, Perth, Western Australia
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 27 May 2023

Hyperion Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Hyperion Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Hyperion Stakes Preview and results.

The race was first held in 1972 when it was won by a horse called St Just. It has been a Group 3 race since 1980.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Perfect Jewel (2020)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Jacks Or Better (1995); Filly – no fillies have won

Multiple winners: Marasco (2008 & 2010); HeronBridge (1984 & 1986); Cambana Lad (1974 & 1975)

Fastest time (1600m): Material Man (2018) 1:36:55

Fastest time (1400m): Medicine Kid (1990) 1:21:40

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Hyperion Stakes

Winners of past Hyperion Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Startrade Dom To Shoot Bustler
2022 Kaptain Kaos God Has Chosen Laverrod
2021 Valour Road Dance Music Money Matters
2020 Perfect Jewel The Velvet King Mississippi Delta
2019 Gatting Galaxy Star Great Shot
2018 Material Man Great Shot Pounamu
2017 Scales Of Justice Zarantz Miki Two Toes
2016 Wink And A Nod Zarantz Gris Caro
2015 Fuchsia Bandana Respondent Tower Of Lonhro
2014 Elite Belle Ranger Grand Nirvana
2013 Black Tycoon Kerrific Ranger
2012 Lucky Gray Grand Nirvana
Rosie Rocket
 * dead heat 2nd
2011 King Kool Kat Impressive Jeuney Grand Nirvana
2010 Marasco Tarzi Spitfire Ace
2009 Tarzi Marasco Hadabeclorka
2008 Marasco Scenic Shot Scenic Blast
2007 No Questions Arctic Park Star Laser
2006 Local Legend Attractions Changing Lanes
2005 Ambers Halo
Lakeside Rhythm
 * dead heat 1st Field Commander
2004 Dedicated Miss Mapperholic Kensyl Bay
2003 Tribula Mogul Early Express
2002 Old Fashion Storm Shot Jugahtrice
2001 Country Blazer Bumbelina Lyrical King
2000 Devilish Dealer Wild Flood Sweepshot
1999 Star System Kim Gorgeous Springtime Gold
1998 Willoughby Cash In The Bank Jacks Or Better
1997 Bar Dreamer Jacks Or Better Sari Twig
1996 Island Morn Welcome Knight Quadripendante
1995 Jacks Or Better Sammy The Bull Sir Tinka
1994 Brave Kite Barrosa Boy Double Dignity
1993 Craft Memory Sir Tinka Callway
1992 Jungle Hero Barrosa Boy Yilgangie Gold
1991 Barrosa Boy Gale Force Tackle The Pak
1990 Medicine Kid Island Gossip Century God
1989 Tackle The Pak British Steel Amber Gold
1988 Fimiston The Bukhra Ace In Command
1987 Sky Filou Saville Row Jonchek
1986 Heron Bridge Pick A Beau Lucky Brave
1985 Jemoyn Heron Bridge Daring Fling
1984 Heron Bridge Jemoyn Casshoney
1983 Hey Cabby National Boy Belzona
1982 Bungler Papermaker Wild Side
1981 Swan’s Pride Hakim Boy Latin Saint
1980 Tsunami Pure Gamble Professor Piccard
1979 Asian Beau Rare Sovereign Indian Shell
1978 Junction Girl
1977 Alpine Wind
1976 Detonator Arctic Bid Just Alicia
1975 Cambana Lad Comet King Superwheels
1974 Cambana Lad Tattered And Torn Silver Kirsty
1973 Solid Gold My Juliet Silver Kirsty
1972 St. Just Loudspeaker Glavern