Belmont Sprint Race Information

The Belmont Sprint is a 1400 metre weight-for-age race run by the West Australian Turf Club in late May. It is held at Belmont as the feature event of the meeting.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Weight-for-age, 2YO & upwards
  • Track: Belmont Racecourse, Perth, Western Australia
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 18 May 2024

Belmont Sprint Race History

See the 2024 Belmont Sprint Preview and results.

See the 2023 Belmont Sprint Preview and results.

See the 2022 Belmont Sprint Preview and results.

The race was first run over 1200m in 1963 when it was won by Free Style. In 1973 it was run over 1300m then returned to 1200m from 1974 to 1977. It was held over 1300m from 1978 to 1981 and the distance was increased to the current 1400m from 1982 onwards, It has held Group 3 Status since 1980.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Perfect Jewel (2020)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Bustler (2023); Another Omen (1987); Filly – none

2YO to win: Burgess Queen (1977)

Multiple winners: Grand Nirvana (2010 & 2011); National Boy (1978 & 1979)

Fastest time (1400m): Another Omen (1987) 1:21:6

Roma Cup & Belmont Sprint: Rock Magic (2017); Elite Belle (2014); Luckygray (2012); Grand Nirvana (2011); Modem (2004); Tribula (2003); Tangiers (1980); National Boy (1979); Clear Mak (1973); Firelight (1969); Santaland (1968).

Interesting trivia: 2006 winner Let’s Go Thommo went on to win the 2007 Group 1 The Goodwood (1200m) at Morphettville. There was a dead-heat for 3rd in 1971.

Past winners of the Belmont Sprint

Winners of past Belmont Sprint include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Western Empire Searchin’ Roc’s Magnificent Andy
2023 Bustler The Velvet Queen Resortman
2022 God Has Chosen Red Can Man Massimo
2021 The Velvet King Valour Road Dance Music
2020 Perfect Jewel The Velvet King Angelic Ruler
2019 Galaxy Star Great Shot Vital Silver
2018 Material Man Great Shot Pounamu
2017 Rock Magic Scales Of Justice Disposition
2016 Wink And A Nod Battle Hero Mr Utopia
2015 Shining Knight Dawn Approach Fuchsia Bandana
2014 Elite Elle Kalahaar Checkpoint
2013 Kerrific Belora Ranger
2012 Luckygray Reimbursement Cavallo Pazzo
2011 Grand Nirvana King Kool Kat Battle Emblem
2010 Grand Nirvana Roman Time Werd
2009 Universal Ruler Roman Time Kens Double
2008 Marasco Oroyo Gold Ripped
2007 Beat The Storm Ripped Is Amazing
2006 Let Go Thommo Kim Invader Electic
2005 Who Did It Mefeking Beyond Dispute
2004 Modem Plea Bargain Secret Link
2003 Tribula Modem Shane’s Boy
2002 Dark ‘n’ Dangerous Prince Of Pop Country Blazer
2001 Corporate Bruce Old Fashion Mystery Lad
2000 News Review Noble Sky Jevanswer
1999 True Lover Papillion Look Of Success
1998 San Salvador True Lover Look Of Success
1997 Cash In The Bank Wabasso Bar Dreamer
1996 Bar Dreamer Jacks Or Better Cash In The Bank
1995 Craft Memory Dendy Park Alias Comberbache
1994 Bold Extreme Never Say Kiss Of Fire
1993 Dynamor Jevaction Mattandann
1992 Blonde Jev Allez Streak Double Dignity
1991 Global Impact British Steel So Dashing
1990 Tsaritsyn Century God Edge Of Darkness
1989 Il Ferrari Straight Cash Tackle The Pak
1988 Snowy Kitty British Steel Ableson
1987 Another Omen Hanging In Ivory Shell
1986 Soft As Snow Hanging In Chest Mark
1985 Casshoney Daring Fling All Sovereign
1984 Misty Shell Official Receiver Bungling
1983 Art Roy McAlfie Loan Board
1982 Kiwi Bride National Image Layout
1981 Echoes Of Spring Bungler Tangiers
1980 Tangiers Hasten Lass Pure Gamble
1979 National Boy Warian Venetian Red
1978 National Boy Venetian Red Marjoleo
1977 Burgess Queen Interchange Grey Zor
1976 Interchange Alpine Wind Super Red
1975 Craigie Boy Comet King Post Copy
1974 Minor Control Clear Mak Red Crescent
1973 Clear Mak Sans Sabre Loudspeaker
1972 All Legal My Juliet Aladdin
1971 Baywana Star Glitter Miss Conquest Aubette
1970 Countlike King Orator Miss Debonair
1969 Firelight Sherolythe High Spirits
1968 Santaland Drynoch Counter Attack
1967 Aquitania Kimberley Star Chemech
1966 Cosy Comet Kimberley Star Donallie
1965 De Gaullio Chirpy Faory Port
1964 Covanus Tantrum Railway Boy
1963 Free Style Lady Lizzie Coco