Standish Handicap Race Information

The Standish Handicap is a 1200 metre open handicap race run by the Victorian Racing Club in early January, normally New Year’s Day. It is held at Flemington as the feature event on the program.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Open handicap
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $250,000
  • Date: Saturday 13 January 2024

Standish Handicap Race History

See the 2024 Standish Handicap Preview and results.

See the 2023 Standish Handicap Preview and results.

See the 2022 Standish Handicap Preview and results.

See the 2021 Standish Handicap Preview and results.

The race was first held in 1884 as a Principal Race over 6 furlongs (about 1200m) when it was won by a horse called Chuckster. When the metric system came in the distance was changed to 1200m in 1972 and has remained at that distance except for 2006 when it was held over 1100m at Caulfield. It attained the current Group 3 status in 1980.

It is now part of the new Summer Sprint Series in Melbourne and is the third of the four race series. The other races are the Listed Kensington Stakes at Flemington, Listed Christmas Stakes at Caulfield and the Group 2 Australia Stakes at Moonee Valley. Racing Victoria announced the changed programming in late 2021, and prizemoney for all four of these races has been boosted.

The winner will be exempt from the ballot for the Newmarket Handicap.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Whispering Brook (2019)

Last 3YO to win: C&G  – Jolly Old Mac (1992); Filly – Tone (1965)

Multiple winners: Halvorsen (2020 & 2022); Super Impressive (2003 & 2005); Grandiose (1989 & 1991); Rooney (1978 & 1980); Ungar (1950 & 1951); David’s Last (1945 & 1946); Manrico (1939 & 1941); Blue Cross (1920 & 1921); Berry Consols (1912 & 1913); Miss Bobby (1907 &1908).

Fastest time (1200m): Iglesia (2001) 1:07:16

Interesting trivia: In 2024 there was a dead-heat for 2nd. In 1978, North Atlantic dead-heated across the line with Rooney but was relegated to 3rd on protest from the rider of Comaida Bay (runner-up).

Past winners of the Standish Handicap

Winners of past Standish Handicap include Grandiose (1989 & 1991) and Redelva (1988).

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Sghirripa Crosshaven
* dead heat for 2nd
2023 Snapper Rose Quartz Dawn Passage
2022 Halvorsen It’sourtime The Astrologist
2021 Sirius Suspect Albumin Defiant Dancer
2020 Halvorsen Bold Star Superhard
2019 Whispering Brook Smart Coupe True Excelsior
2018 Lord Of The Sky Flippant Chamois Road
2017 Odyssey Moon Cavaloce Inspector
2016 Durendal Zupacharged Churchill Dancer
2015 Decircles Lord Of The Sky Reparations
2014 Flamberge Essay Raider Decircles
2013 Adamantium Catapulted Goldstone
2012 Catapulted Rocking Force Cascabel
2011 Ahdashim Chasm Eclair Mystic
2010 Royal Ida Beltrois Juggle The Books
2009 King Hoaks Bowhunter Orbit Express
2008 Publishing Eskaw Pencelaron
2007 Watchyerback Murray Downs Cocinero
2006 Honalee Gold Wells Starhere
2005 Super Impressive Blessum Savage Attack
2004 Blessum Monahan Tweed Super Impressive
2003 Super Impressive Confederate Kid The Expat
2002 Lets Planet Chattanooga Generalissimo
2001 Iglesia Sedation Major
2000 Upright Rain Dance Lady Bush Outlaw
1999 Whistle Up Sandridge Bay Hon Kwok Star
1998 Hon Kwok Star Apple Danish Jugulator
1997 Khaptingly Hon Kwok Star Fighter Bay
1996 Ben’s Rocket Power And Glory Delsole
1995 Blue Boss Verdetto The Heavyweight
1994 Laser Beam Lucky Dagger Queen Echo
1993 Western Voyage Rookaria Rose Of Marizza
1992 Jolly Old Mac Aishan Century Rising
1991 Grandiose Diamond Zephyr Grey Man
1990 Strawberry Ranch Tympanise Sardinia