Australia Stakes Race Information

The Australia Stakes is a 1200 metre weight for age race run by the Moonee Valley Racing Club in January. It is run at Moonee Valley and is the first feature sprint of the New Year.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Weight for age, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Moonee Valley Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Friday 22 January 2021

Australia Stakes Race History

See the 2021 Australia Stakes Preview and Results.

Registered as the Stanley Wootton Stakes and previously known as the Carlyon Stakes.

The race was first run in 1988 when it was won by a horse called Special.

Australia Stakes Facts

Last mare to win; Whispering Brook (2019)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Holler (2016); Filly – Black Caviar (2010)

Multiple winners: Black Caviar (2010 & 2012)

Fastest time (1200m): Hareeba (1995) 1:08:8

Australia Stakes & CF Orr Stakes: Black Caviar (2012)

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Australia Stakes

Winners of past Australia Stakes include Scales Of Justice (2020), Malaguerra (2017), Holler (2016), Black Caviar (2010 & 2012), Let Go Thommo (2008), El Segundo (2007), Super Elegant (2005), Yell (2003), Piavonic (2001), Sports (1999), Flavour (1998), All Our Mob (1996), Hareeba (1995), Schillaci (1993),  Redelva (1990) and Special (1988).

Year Winner Second Third
2021 Streets Of Avalon Viridine Tavisan
2020 Scales Of Justice Hey Doc Embrace Me
2019 Whispering Brook Fell Swoop Land of Plenty
2018 Thronum Mr Sneaky Stellar Collision
2017 Malaguerra Black Heart Bart Sirbible
2016 Holler Churchill Dancer Rebel Dane
2015 Mourinho It Is Written Dissident
2014 Richie’s Vibe Moment Of Change It Is Written
2013 Sea Lord Pinwheel Outlandish Lad
2012 Black Caviar Zedi Knight Doubtful Jack
2011 Whitefriars Undeniably Typhoon Tracy
2010 Black Caviar Here De Angels La Rocket
2009 Lucky Secret Light Fantastic Von Costa De Hero
2098 Let Go Thommo Maldivian Casino Prince
2007 El Segundo Cocinero Super Elegant
2006 California Dane Virage De Fortune Casual Pass
2005 Super Elegant Strikeline Ruben
2004 Vocabulary Super Elegant Confederate Kid
2003 Yell Libidinious Pernod
2002 Royal Code Intelligent Star Ustinov
2001 Piavonic Ateates Le Zagaletta
2000 Slavonic Sports Le Zagaletta