Kensington Stakes Race Information

The Kensington Stakes is a 1000 metre open handicap race run by the Victoria Racing Club in early January. It is held at Flemington as the feature event of the meeting.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1000 metres
  • Conditions: Open handicap
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Wednesday 20 December 2023

Kensington Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Kensington Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Kensington Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2021 Kensington Stakes (Dec) Preview and results.

See the 2021 Kensington Stakes (Jan) Preview and results.

Moved from mid-January to mid-December. which means it will be held twice in 2021.

It is part of the new Summer Sprint Series in Melbourne and is the first of the four race series. The other races are the Listed Christmas Stakes at Caulfield, the Group 3 Standish Handicap at Flemington and the Group 2 Australia Stakes at Moonee Valley. Racing Victoria announced the changed programming in late 2021, and prizemoney for all four of these races has been boosted.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Belwazi (2019)

Multiple winners: First Command (2012 & 2013)

Fastest time (1000m): Headwater (2016) 0:56:90

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Kensington Stakes

Winners of past Kensington Stakes include some handy sprinters.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Katsu Najem Suhail Rich Fortune
2022 Ashford Street Yulong Command Colsridge
2021 (Dec) Mileva Parsifal Halvorsen
2021 (Jan) Fabergino Sword Of Mercy Pandemic
2020 Bold Star Causeway Girl All Too Royal
2019 Belwazi Glenall Champagne Cuddles
2018 Rock ‘N’ Gold Husson Eagle Itz Invincible
2017 Tivaci El Divino Hellbent
2016 Headwater Bullpit The Quarterback
2015 The Quarterback Sumakaray Hard Stride
2014 General Truce Pocket Rockets Kaiser Sun
2013 First Command Light Express Belfast Boy
2012 First Command Decircles Weekend Special
2011 Grand Duels Warm Love Cardinal Virtue
2010 Silver Bullion Arinos Common Interest
2009 Secret Flyer Immortality Bowhunter
2008 La Chasseuse Seafarer Bel Mer
2007 Satin Robes Spielmeister Cevaya
2006 The Lanz Live In Vain Raid The Royals
2005 Our Quivira Foreplay Classiconi
2004 Gold Wells Edgeton Naden
2003 Dama De Noche River Dove Umrum
2002 Lontano Joie Ruthless Tycoon
2001 Natural Tycoon River Crossing Cullen
2000 Black Bean Man O’Mars Bush Outlaw